Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • spotswood
    • By spotswood 18th Jun 17, 12:53 AM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    spotswood
    Global funds and home bias
    • 18th Jun 17, 12:53 AM
    Global funds and home bias 18th Jun 17 at 12:53 AM
    I am new to investing and been looking at various Vanguard funds. I've been wondering why the LS funds allocate more than 50% of their total assets to the UK & US markets and whether this is something I should replicate in my DIY portfolio. Currently I am using a country's share of global GDP as a basis for my asset allocation which gives significantly less exposure to the UK & US markets than LS.

But this is a more general observation, most global funds follow a similar strategy. Maybe the companies in those two markets are more global in nature? Or they pay more dividends and is worth holding more?
Page 1
    • AnotherJoe
    • By AnotherJoe 18th Jun 17, 6:26 AM
    • 7,560 Posts
    • 8,164 Thanks
    AnotherJoe
    • 18th Jun 17, 6:26 AM
    • 18th Jun 17, 6:26 AM
    The 25% UK bias is there because they think UK investors will want a UK bias.
    If you dont, there are other funds that either have no UK at all (look for "ex UK" in the description, or that are "purely" global so the UK is about 7%.
    re US as a percentage of global funds, it may be that they are invested in the proportion of investable companies per economy, rather than GDP?
    • AlanP
    • By AlanP 19th Jun 17, 2:46 PM
    • 954 Posts
    • 671 Thanks
    AlanP