Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • ally212
    • By ally212 17th Jun 17, 9:03 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    ally212
    New Build - What if they serve completion notice while i'm on holiday?
    • 17th Jun 17, 9:03 PM
    New Build - What if they serve completion notice while i'm on holiday? 17th Jun 17 at 9:03 PM
    Hello!

This is my first time posting here!

I've recently exchanged on a shared ownership property in April, with completion to be on notice - the original completion estimate was May/June when I exchanged, however It's now changed to July.

I've had a holiday booked in July for about a year now and have made the housing association aware of this right from the start of the process - they said if the dates did happen to collide they would do their best to delay serving notice. However when I spoke to them last week I had to remind them about my holiday.

I'm now worried as it's looking likely the completion is going to be while I'm on holiday - what do I do if they do serve me notice while I'm on holiday?! Has anyone else had this happen to them?

Thanks!
Page 1
    • AnotherJoe
    • By AnotherJoe 17th Jun 17, 10:04 PM
    • 7,040 Posts
    • 7,510 Thanks
    AnotherJoe
    • 17th Jun 17, 10:04 PM
    • 17th Jun 17, 10:04 PM
    You'd just pick the keys up when you got back? I can't imagine there's a rule you have to move in on the day you complete with shared ownership (I've only done it with a standard mortage). What's the actual concern you have ?
    • ally212
    • By ally212 17th Jun 17, 10:43 PM
    • 2 Posts