Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • seert
    • By seert 16th Jun 17, 7:09 PM
    • 155Posts
    • 11Thanks
    seert
    Television reception query
    • 16th Jun 17, 7:09 PM
    Television reception query 16th Jun 17 at 7:09 PM
    Apologies for some of this as I am not an expert and I am asking the questions as an ordinary man on the street.
    My mother’s TV (32 inch HD ready Hitachi) has a flickering band across the top of the screen and the colours keep changing so we would have like a yellow wash and then a green wash and then for a while we will have the normal picture, the consensus is that it’s time to get a new TV.
    She is happy enough with 32” size or would go up to maybe 40” and I was hoping that we could maybe get her an HD TV and give her a much sharper picture.
    Here is where the problems start, on her existing TV an engineer (for want of a better word) came out and at the time advised her to put a satellite dish up and run a lead into the Hitachi TV to give her the best choice. She does not pay for Sky but I think she has some of their free programmes as well, the box she has is the old standard sky box.
    If she gets an HD TV with HD Freeview in it I take it she will not receive a full HD picture using this old box?
    Will she need a Sky HD box to get a picture and if so will this work by just plugging it in or does she then need an HD signal from Sky?
    Does the Sky HD box affect the Freeview channels that would be on the TV?