Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • leslieknope
    • By leslieknope 13th Jun 17, 2:30 PM
    • 167Posts
    • 213Thanks
    leslieknope
    neighbour scuffed my bumper
    • 13th Jun 17, 2:30 PM
    neighbour scuffed my bumper 13th Jun 17 at 2:30 PM
    hi all,

apologies if this is such a simple question but i'm a first time driver so i don't really know much about this!

on friday my neighbour scuffed my bumper while i was in bed - i was not in the car as it was late at night. i wasn't blocking any drive or the main road, she said that she rolled backwards off her drive and hit it a little. she's accepted fault for this. i didn't immediately see any damage as i was at work when i called and appreciated the note she left, but my partner has since pointed out some minor scuffs on my bumper. neighbour seems to be fine with paying for this (maybe a touch annoyed i didn't see right away) although i do feel bad as the cheapest quote i've had for this is £156 (inc VAT) for only a few little scuffs!

my question is, as she seems to want to go through her insurance, will this affect my premium when i renew? she's accepted fault and is willing to pay but i just do not want this to affect my payments next year. i already pay quite a hefty amount for being a new driver and was looking forward to collecting one year of NC. is it worth claiming from her if this will affect my payments? i know it's only minor damage but i'm so proud of my first car
    CCCC #33: £42/£240
    DFW: £4355/£4405
Page 1
    • Quentin