Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Elena068
    • By Elena068 11th Jun 17, 4:03 AM
    • 5Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Elena068
    A friend of friend threw away my £300 worth suitcase last year
    • 11th Jun 17, 4:03 AM
    A friend of friend threw away my £300 worth suitcase last year 11th Jun 17 at 4:03 AM
    A friend of friend threw away my £300 worth suitcase last year. Should and can I chase her for compensation now?

I'm an university student. In 2015, I took a year abroad and left my stuff at my friend's house. She rented that house with another four girls. In Oct 2016, I returned back to university. At around the same time, my friend and the other three girls moved out, only one girl who continued to rent that house. My friend took all of her and my stuff to her new house, but forgot one of my suitcases. We later found out the girl who still stayed at the house had donated my luggage to a charity van. She claimed because even though 4 people inc my friend had moved out, there were still a lot of things left in her house, which got her angry. She said she had asked the other 3 girls, but forgot to ask my friend. And as a result, she threw away the suitcase. Inside the suitcase had many new stuff and invaluable sentiments of mine, total value were about £300. I didn't escalate this for a compensation. Now think about it, I feel I was so stupid, but I was totally a mess at that time. I had lots of things to worry about and catch up after a year off. My friend kept crying, blaming that was her fault of forgetting the suitcase, which was awkward. I