Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Fender4
    • By Fender4 10th Jun 17, 10:09 PM
    • 25Posts
    • 28Thanks
    Fender4
    Please can someone give me some advice
    • #1
    • 10th Jun 17, 10:09 PM
    Please can someone give me some advice 10th Jun 17 at 10:09 PM
    Hi so quite a long email and it's getting messy because I'm frustrated.
    My question is a refund has been provided to a card which is closed along with the bank account.
    Coop bank have confirmed the payment won't reach them and it will bounce back.

    Am I entitled to get this money back via any other methods if they will only refund via the original method?

    I am been an !!!! but only for the fact that this seems to be a regular occurrence with premier inn that they do all they can to pay up when things go wrong.


    It's an email chain so start at the bottom.
    Also just to add that there is no reason they should not believe the pics I have sent they are clear and they are just been objections.


    HI Kirsty.

    At this point I think it may be necessary to involve a external party because what should be a simple case is turning difficult. can you please let me know if you are a member of an Alternative dispute resolution company. who can engage on our behalf before I seek legal advice. If you are not a member of one would you be willing to engage with one?
    could I also ask if you are the final person I can escalate to within Whitbread or could you refer this matter to your manager?

    Thanks for pointing out that your terms and conditions were updated on the 5th May 2017

    ‘ Claims must be made within 7 days of the end of the stay to which your claim relates.

    As you will see from the email the claim was made on the 31st May which was the same day as my stay. Not to mention that from a legal perspective I would also be bound to your terms at the point of booking which was on the 29th October 2016. Either way the point you have made is irrelevant.

    I also feel comfortable that from a legal perspective your response of:


    Unfortunately, the issues regarding the cleanliness in the room do not fall within the remit of our Good Night Guarantee and as we had no other reports of noise during your stay, we would be unable to provide you with a refund on this occasion

    also acknowledges you understand the reasoning behind the email.

    I feel that your information you are providing is misleading and making it extremely difficult for consumers something which you use as a USP at the moment we are not currently getting anywhere with this therfor my request for an alternate dispute resolution.

    I think there is also a lack of clarity in your email about if you are actually providing a "refund" or a "good will" which are different matters. not to mention that this issue is unfortunately not resolved if the payment does not reach my account and returns to yourself.


    I would ask that a manger also comes back to me with details on if the payment was returned or not and why if it does bounce back how we propose to deal with this. I did ask for a manager call back a couple of days ago so this should be pending.


    Thanks
    Steve



    Steve Dale
    Email: stevedale22@sky.com
    Tel: 079


    From: Escalations <Escalations@Whitbread.com>
    To: Steve Dale <stevedale22@sky.com>
    Sent: Thursday, 8 June 2017, 13:44
    Subject: Leek Town Centre Premier Inn - Ref: 2573601

    Dear Mr Dale

    Thank you for your further email and pictures regarding your stay at our Leek Town Centre Premier Inn.

    I can confirm that all pictures provided in your initial complaint were passed over to the Assistant Operations Manager of the hotel to view and investigate. I apologise that you feel this has not been investigated correctly, however, I can assure you that a thorough investigation was carried out in line with company procedure. The results of this investigation indicated that we could not verify the issues that you brought up within the room.

    I can confirm that as of 02 May 2017, Premier Inn has undertaken a change to our Good Night Guarantee policy. The Terms and Conditions were updated on our website on 2 May to advise guests of the correct processes and procedures in relation to claiming a refund under the remit of our Good Night Guarantee, which you unfortunately have not followed. Please see an excerpt below;

    ‘ Claims must be made within 7 days of the end of the stay to which your claim relates.

    To make a claim you should raise your complaint with the team at the hotel who will advise of the process. If you did not raise your complaint at the hotel or were unable to do so, you must contact us through our web form, or for reservations which were not made online, by calling Premier Inn Guest Relations on 0333 003 0025. If your room was booked as part of a group booking, the person who made the booking on behalf of the group must make the claim. If you room was booked through a tour operator, you must make your claim to the tour operator.

    You will need to provide details of the Premier Inn hotel in which you stayed, the dates of your stay, the nights for which you wish to claim a refund and the reason(s) why you did not have a great night's sleep on each of those nights.

    Refunds will be made to the card you used when you paid for your room and are usually processed within 7 days. You will be asked to confirm receipt of your refund.’

    As confirmed in my colleagues email, we had received no other reports of noise throughout the duration of your stay. I can see that you have advised that you will be requesting proof of sound levels from within your room on the dates and time of your stay, however, as your stay is now in the past, this will not be possible. I would like to bring to your attention that had you spoke with the Reception Team after the first night of your stay, a room transfer could have been provided to ensure that you had a good nights sleep the following night.

    As you have confirmed that you did not speak with the Reception Team at all during your stay, we would not usually provide a refund. However, on this occasion only, as a gesture of goodwill, I have now refunded £100.50 back onto the card used for payment. I can see that you have advised that your bank and card details have since changed, but due to our strict auditing process, the refund does have to be made back to the card that was used for payment and this is confirmed in our Terms and Conditions. I believe that you have contacted us again in this regard, and our Guest Relations Team have sent an enquiry through to our Accounting Team to see if this transaction has gone through successfully.

    Should you experience any issues during any future stays, please bring these to the attention of the Reception Team at the time so that they can offer you a resolution to ensure that the rest of your stay is enjoyable.

    Once again Mr Dale, thank you for your further response.

    Kind regards

    Kirsty Green
    Senior Guest Relations Advisor
    Premier Inn

    http://whbmsg01.ad.whitbread.com/tempmailin/TICustom.nsf/0/195e0cdbe1e35ed080256a17003122d7/Signature_Rich/0.1B2?OpenElement&FieldElemFormat=jpg
    Our full Terms and Conditions can be found: here
    A full list of our operating hours can be found on our website www.premierinn.com

    From: Steve Dale [mailto:stevedale22@sky.com]
    Sent: 07 June 2017 00:57
    To: Escalations
    Subject: Re: Leek Town Centre Premier Inn - Ref: 2573601 additional info

    *Additional information*
    To prevent further issues later on please be advised that my card and bank details have changed from the time of making the booking.
    Sent from BlueMail
    On 6 Jun 2017, at 23:27, Steve Dale < stevedale22@sky.com> wrote:
    Hi Kirsty.

    Thanks for mentioning that you are unable to find details of the broken plug / mould. I took pictures of these and sent them in my first email. Maybe these were not received so please see attached.
    You should find the pictures sufficient to back up what I have said as at the moment saying you were unable to find evidence of these leads me to believe this was not investigated correctly. If the area manager wishes to dispute this claim then I am happy to discuss with him directly and take further if need be.
    Whilst I could have mentioned these things to reception I still prefer my complaint to be official and through the correct process it was also probably not appropriate whilst looking after a wedding party arriving back late. Unfortunately as it has got to this stage, I will mention that no where within your terms does it state what to do if I find things like this wrong therefore emailing straight after to your customer relations/ CEO office I feel is also reasonable.
    Please be assured that I did not have a good night sleep as per my first email. If you require me to compete a freedom of information access and a data protection request for the walks you say were completed from cctv I am happy to do so i will also request proof of sound levels from WITHIN my room on them dates and times. As I'm not confident the first part of my complaint was investigated into correctly I doubt you can provide evidence that the second part is.
    I will also add I am making a complaint and should not be relevant that others are not.
    I refer to your terms and conditions regarding a good night sleep and have mentioned relevant points for each section in capitals. You will also see i have followed the process to discuss with yourselves rather than your receptionist.
    Process for making a claim
    Claims must be made within 7 days of the end of the stay to which your claim relates.
    To make a claim you must contact us at guest.relations@premierinn.com or by calling Premier Inn Guest Relations on 0333 003 0025. If your room was booked as part of a group booking, the person who made the booking on behalf of the group must make the claim. If you room was booked through a tour operator, you must make your claim to the tour operator.
    You will need to provide details of the Premier Inn hotel in which you stayed, the dates of your stay, the nights for which you wish to claim a refund and the reason(s) why you did not have a great night's sleep on each of those nights.
    Refunds will be made to the card you used when you paid for your room and are usually processed within 7 days. You will be asked to confirm receipt of your refund.
    Exclusions
    Our Good Night Guarantee does not apply where you do not have a great night's sleep due to circumstances that are beyond our reasonable control as hoteliers such as extreme weather conditions, fire, flood, lightning, earthquake, explosion, terrorism, war, civil disorder, epidemics, embargoes, labour disputes and power cuts.( NON OF THESE ARE APPLICABLE) not claim under our Good Night Guarantee if you have breached the terms and conditions applying to your booking for example by causing damage to our or to other guests property or by being abusive to our staff or to other guests during your stay (I DIDN'T SPEAK TO YOUR STAFF) .We reserve the right to reject claims made by individuals who are abusing the Good Night Guarantee by making excessive claims (MY CLAIM IS GENUINE AND AM WILLING TO PROCEED WITH AVENUES UNTIL RESOLVED) If an individual or any of the guests within their booking claims a refund for more than 50% of their stay on more than two occasions in any 12 month period, such claims will be deemed excessive save where we are satisfied that there is a good reason for the claims.(I HAVE MADE NO PRIOR CLAIMS)
    Please note that the Good Night Guarantee only applies to Premier Inn hotels and does not apply to stays at hub by Premier Inn. (MY COMPLAINT IS REG PREMIER IN HOTEL)
    I stand by the complaint I have made in terms of your good night sleep and followed in accordance with your terms. If you wish to dispute I had a good night sleep please provide evidence.
    Whilst I understand that you may get several complaints I will only make a complaint when I have genuine need and am currently even more frustrated now with the amount of time I'm having to spend on this.
    I ask that in this situation both nights are fully refunded or if not ask for your final response from a manager so that I can take my complaint to the retail ombudsman for them to investigate independently.
    Regards



    Steve Dale
    07
    Sent from BlueMail
    On 6 Jun 2017, at 14:56, Steve Dale < stevedale22@sky.com> wrote:
    Hi Kirsty.
    Thanks for the response please can you call me on 0746 to discuss further or alternately tell me who I can escalate this to.

    I am telling you there were issues and have photographs and don't appreciate these been dismissed.
    Steve
    Sent from BlueMail
    On 6 Jun 2017, at 14:44, Escalations < Escalations@Whitbread.com> wrote:
    Dear Mr Dale

    Thank you for your recent email addressed to Alison Brittain, which has been passed onto myself for investigation and response.

    Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused during your recent stay at our Leek Town Centre hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide our guests with a high standard of service and I am sorry to learn that on this occasion we failed to achieve this.

    I was sorry to hear of the noise issues that you experienced during your stay and that you felt your room was not up to our usual high standards. I have investigated your complaint with the Assistant Operations Manager at our Leek Town Centre Premier Inn who has advised that both he and the Head Housekeeper have entered the room to investigate the issues with the mould and the broken board. However I have to advise that they have been unable to verify such issues with the room that was allocated to you. Please be assured that further training has been instigated with the Housekeeping Team to ensure all rooms are cleaned to Premier Inn standard and that your experience with the hair in the bath tub is not repeated.

    Please also be advised that all Premier Inns have a Quiet Nigh Policy, whereby we ask all of our guests to be considerate of each other and keep noise to a minimum between the hours of 10pm and 7am. To help ensure our guests have a great night sleep as advertised, the Reception Team also undertake hourly floor walks to identify any noise issues and log any disturbances. The Assistant Operations Manager has confirmed after having checked the records on our noise log for both nights of your stay there are no other complaints of this nature from any other guests staying in the hotel at this time.

    I was also sorry to learn that you were unable to report such matters to the Reception Team on duty both mornings. Whilst the Receptionist may be called away at times, a bell and sign is always displayed advising guests to press this bell to alert the Receptionist that somebody is in need of their assistance. Had you made the Team aware of the issues that you encountered during your stay after your check in, they would have offered you a resolution and provided you with an alternative room.

    Unfortunately, the issues regarding the cleanliness in the room do not fall within the remit of our Good Night Guarantee and as we had no other reports of noise during your stay, we would be unable to provide you with a refund on this occasion.

    Once again Mr Dale, thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us, your feedback is appreciated as it does help us in our endeavour to provide a high standard of service to all of our guests.

    Kind regards

    Kirsty Green
    Senior Guest Relations Advisor
    Premier Inn

    Our full Terms and Conditions can be found: here
    A full list of our operating hours can be found on our website www.premierinn.com

    From: Janine MacIntyre
    Sent: 31 May 2017 15:20
    To: 'stevedale22@sky.com'
    Subject: FW: FAO CEO office complaint

    Dear Mr Dale,

    Thank you for your email sent to Alison Brittain.

    I have asked Janice Garner, Guest Relations Executive, to investigate the issues you have raised and then ensure that you are contacted. In the meantime, thank you for bringing this to our attention although I am sorry that you have had to do so.

    Yours sincerely,

    Janine MacIntyre
    PA to Chief Executive
    Whitbread PLC

    Whitbread Court, Houghton Hall Business Park, Porz Avenue, Dunstable, Beds, LU5 5XE
    1st Floor, 120 Holborn, London, EC1N 2TD


    Please consider the environment and don’t print this email unless you really need to

    From: Steve Dale [mailto:stevedale22@sky.com]
    Sent: 31 May 2017 14:30
    To: Guest Relations Email; Simon Jones; Paul Flaum; Alison Brittain
    Subject: FAO CEO office complaint

    Team.
    I aim to make this email factual and to the point.
    On route back to London and very tired. The room which I stopped in for 2 nights was disgusting if their was someone at reception I would have discussed with them before leaving but their wasn't.
    I've attached a few pics to show you the mold the hairs in the bath plug and also your broken plugs but my main concern is the fact that I got no sleep at all.
    I was in room 204 and I genuinely don't know what the noise was I dismissed it after the first night but then when it happend again after the second night I couldn't. Constant banging all night. This couldn't have been from a person it was too loud so I have no idea what it was.
    Whilst I understand that this may be an isolated incident as we took up a few rooms as part of out wedding party I would appreciate this matter sorting.
    I do not wish to stay with premier inn again at this moment in time feel robbed when a hotel cannot get the basics
    Steve Dale

    F
    London
    S
    Sent from BlueMail
    __________________________________________________ ___________________
    Please consider the environment and don't print this email unless you really need to.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________

    Whitbread

    Please consider the environment and don't print this email unless you really need to.

    This email and any attachments are confidential, legally privileged and protected by copyright. If you are not the intended recipient, dissemination or copying of this email is prohibited. If you have received this in error, please notify the sender by replying by email and then delete the email completely from your system.

    Where the content of this email is personal or otherwise unconnected with Whitbread's business, we accept no responsibility or liability for such content. Internet email may be susceptible to data corruption, interception and unauthorised amendment over which we have no control. Whilst sweeping all outgoing email for viruses, we do not accept liability for the presence of any computer viruses in this email or any losses caused as a result of viruses.

    The company numbers for the Whitbread group of companies, each of which is registered in England and Wales are:

    Whitbread PLC (4120344)
    Whitbread Group PLC (29423)
    Costa Limited (1270695)
    Premier Inn Hotels Limited (5137608)
    Costa Express Limited (3145187)
    __________________________________________________ ___________________
    Please consider the environment and don't print this email unless you really need to.
    __________________________________________________ ______________________

    Whitbread

    Please consider the environment and don't print this email unless you really need to.

    This email and any attachments are confidential, legally privileged and protected by copyright. If you are not the intended recipient, dissemination or copying of this email is prohibited. If you have received this in error, please notify the sender by replying by email and then delete the email completely from your system.

    Where the content of this email is personal or otherwise unconnected with Whitbread's business, we accept no responsibility or liability for such content. Internet email may be susceptible to data corruption, interception and unauthorised amendment over which we have no control. Whilst sweeping all outgoing email for viruses, we do not accept liability for the presence of any computer viruses in this email or any losses caused as a result of viruses.

    The company numbers for the Whitbread group of companies, each of which is registered in England and Wales are:

    Whitbread PLC (4120344)
    Whitbread Group PLC (29423)
    Costa Limited (1270695)
    Premier Inn Hotels Limited (5137608)
    Costa Express Limited (3145187)
Page 1
    • Richey_
    • By Richey_ 11th Jun 17, 8:13 AM
    • 217 Posts
    • 248 Thanks
    Richey_
    • #2
    • 11th Jun 17, 8:13 AM
    • #2
    • 11th Jun 17, 8:13 AM
    Whitbread appear to have been more than reasonable with you.

    Don't get really what you are trying to gain here except for trying to publically embarrass them into a higher settlement.

    Move on, enjoy the sunshine. You have a good will guesture. You partially won. There's bigger things in life to worry about...
    • Ilona
    • By Ilona 11th Jun 17, 8:20 AM
    • 1,872 Posts
    • 6,432 Thanks
    Ilona
    • #3
    • 11th Jun 17, 8:20 AM
    • #3
    • 11th Jun 17, 8:20 AM
    Hi Fender. Your post is far too long, I haven't got time to read a book. Can you please condense it down into a few facts. Thank you,
    Ilona
    I love skip diving
    • Fender4
    • By Fender4 11th Jun 17, 8:26 AM
    • 25 Posts
    • 28 Thanks
    Fender4
    • #4
    • 11th Jun 17, 8:26 AM
    • #4
    • 11th Jun 17, 8:26 AM
    Richey I don't think you have read it. I'm not asking for more. I'm asking them to return what they have offered some how. As I don't have the card I originally paid on
    • sourcrates
    • By sourcrates 11th Jun 17, 1:27 PM
    • 11,902 Posts
    • 11,399 Thanks
    sourcrates
    • #5
    • 11th Jun 17, 1:27 PM
    • #5
    • 11th Jun 17, 1:27 PM
    Richey I don't think you have read it. I'm not asking for more. I'm asking them to return what they have offered some how. As I don't have the card I originally paid on
    Originally posted by Fender4

    You may want to edit out your personal details from the above post.
    Last edited by sourcrates; 11-06-2017 at 1:30 PM.
    I'm a Board Guide on the Debt-Free Wannabe, Credit File And Ratings, and
    Bankruptcy And Living With It, boards. I'm a volunteer to help the boards run smoothly, and I can move and merge posts there.
    Board guides are not moderators and don't read every post. If you spot an abusive or illegal post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com. Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.com.

    For free debt advice, contact either : Stepchange, National Debtline, or, CAB.
    For Legal advice see : http://legalbeagles.info/
    • keepcalmandstayoutofdebt
    • By keepcalmandstayoutofdebt 11th Jun 17, 3:56 PM
    • 2,831 Posts
    • 1,479 Thanks
    keepcalmandstayoutofdebt
    • #6
    • 11th Jun 17, 3:56 PM
    • #6
    • 11th Jun 17, 3:56 PM
    I'm asking them to return what they have offered some how. As I don't have the card I originally paid on
    Originally posted by Fender4
    Ask them to extend any goodwill and refund by cheque or way of gift voucher.

    I once after logging a moneyclaimonline online received a cheque back (it was far from the way I had ever originally paid a finance company) so it can be done by these corporates. If you were to money claim they would likely lose out if you won as you can add even potentially add additional interest and reclaim court fee. When the red tape doesn't bring you justice make your own. (I will probably be slated but couldn't care) sometimes depending on poster, this site can feel very biased. Anyway I don't know you might want to see if you can get thread moved to 'consumer rights' on here?

    I once even over paid a landlord one month and his preference to return monies immediately was by cheque. When he could in theory have said thanks girl, that's next month paid in advance but he didn't.

    While I don't work for this hospitality company thanks so much for reinforcing why reactive maintenance is so important
    "If you are caught in a rainstorm, once you accept that you'll receive a soaking, the only thing left to do is enjoy the walk"
    • redpete
    • By redpete 11th Jun 17, 6:57 PM
    • 4,116 Posts
    • 3,633 Thanks
    redpete
    • #7
    • 11th Jun 17, 6:57 PM
    • #7
    • 11th Jun 17, 6:57 PM
    You're original post needs to be heavily edited.

    It is not a good idea to include your real name and especially email in a public forum like this.

    Pasting in a full email thread, including headers and footers, make it a real challenge for anyone to make sense of what happened and what advice you want.
    loose does not rhyme with choose but lose does and is the word you meant to write.
    • redpete
    • By redpete 11th Jun 17, 7:09 PM
    • 4,116 Posts
    • 3,633 Thanks
    redpete
    • #8
    • 11th Jun 17, 7:09 PM
    • #8
    • 11th Jun 17, 7:09 PM
    Richey I don't think you have read it. I'm not asking for more. I'm asking them to return what they have offered some how. As I don't have the card I originally paid on
    Originally posted by Fender4
    You shouldn't confuse matters by questioning whether a refund and a gesture if goodwill are different things, or suggesting they should prove that noise in your room wasn't a problem when you didn't complain to the hotel staff at the time, or commenting on clauses in their conditions that no-one is claiming are relevant.

    Keep it simple, relevant and factual (i.e. just ask how they will transfer the money they have already agreed to pay) and you should be able to sort it out with them.
    loose does not rhyme with choose but lose does and is the word you meant to write.
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

1,942Posts Today

8,002Users online

Martin's Twitter
  • Shana tova umetuka - a sweet Jewish New Year to all celebrating. I won't be online the rest of t'week, as I take the time to be with family

  • Dear Steve. Please note doing a poll to ask people's opinion does not in itself imply an opinion! https://t.co/UGvWlMURxy

  • Luciana is on the advisory board of @mmhpi (we have MPs from most parties) https://t.co/n99NAxGAAQ

  • Follow Martin