Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • saxonman
    • By saxonman 17th May 17, 4:50 PM
    • 274Posts
    • 85Thanks
    saxonman
    making a web site.
    • 17th May 17, 4:50 PM
    making a web site. 17th May 17 at 4:50 PM
    I know this is a question with lots of answers.
    I'm after setting up a web site something very basic to advertise my local honey and other bee related stuff.
    How easy is it for a complete novice to set up.and can it be done for free.
    I've seen companies offering to sell web site names.would I have to buy though them ?
    Sorry so many questions

Cheers
    Last edited by saxonman; 17-05-2017 at 5:31 PM.
    SAXONMAN
Page 1
    • Fortyfoot
    • By Fortyfoot 17th May 17, 6:36 PM
    • 1,724 Posts
    • 890 Thanks
    Fortyfoot
    • 17th May 17, 6:36 PM
    • 17th May 17, 6:36 PM
    Try Weebly.

Easy to use - http://brighousetag.weebly.com/

Fortyfoot
    • flashg67
    • By flashg67 17th May 17, 7:42 PM
    • 2,162 Posts
    • 1,437 Thanks
    flashg67
    • 17th May 17, 7:42 PM
    • 17th May 17, 7:42 PM
    WIX and others do free websites and are likely fine for what you suggest, but if you think it's something that may grow over time and you want a 'proper' domain name like www.saxonshoney.com then I'd say you're better off buying a domain with hosting from a company like GoDaddy, Fasthosts etc,although you will have to pay monthly for this. They all have built in web design tools that make it pretty easy to set up a basic site.