Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • noodledoodle78
    • By noodledoodle78 17th May 17, 9:43 AM
    • 211Posts
    • 248Thanks
    noodledoodle78
    New Employment Contract
    • 17th May 17, 9:43 AM
    New Employment Contract 17th May 17 at 9:43 AM
    Hi

I have received a new and updated employment contract and company handbook to sign.

I work as a manager for a company which provides amongst other things, winter gritting services, grounds and property maintenance.

One of the updates in the new contract of employment is:
    "In normal circumstances operations staff cannot take annual leave between the months of October and March because these are usually the busiest operational months of the year for the Company and it requires therefore a full complement of staff to deliver services to customers."

Can my company enforce a no holiday rule for six months of the year? I understand it would be unwise to book a two or three week holiday during this period, but equally well should there not be an allowance for me to have time off if it is not busy and I have adequate cover and resources in place to manage this?

I previously was entitled to time off in lieu for any overtime worked - given that I am generally on call for 6 months of the year. They are now also looking to remove this. Given that I have no backup or support, this isn't a function that is currently easily shared. What options, if any do I have with this, or what could I propose to the company?

There is also one final new clause: