Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • jjb653
    • By jjb653 2nd May 17, 3:29 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    jjb653
    Need Help With A County Court Claim
    • 2nd May 17, 3:29 PM
    Need Help With A County Court Claim 2nd May 17 at 3:29 PM
    Hi everyone,
    i need a bit of help to understand how to defend a ccj claim when i believe the debt is older than 6 years.
    the default date is 16/08/2011,
    but what i don't get is the start date is 01/02/2011 i never paid once or contacted them. i was a student at uni and took out a contract phone i lost it shortly after but never reported it lost or stolen (stupid i know) then i started getting letters to my home address asking for £1,409 which i ignored cause i could never pay it and i never ran up the bill, now they are trying to take me to court im getting worried. any help would be appreciated
Page 1
    • sourcrates
    • By sourcrates 2nd May 17, 3:44 PM
    • 10,879 Posts
    • 10,554 Thanks
    sourcrates
    • 2nd May 17, 3:44 PM
    • 2nd May 17, 3:44 PM
    It will most likely already be statute barred, the default date is not nessessarily the "cause of action date".

That would be the date you last paid it, but, as you say you didn't make any payments, a defence would be that time has run out to collect on this debt therefore the claimants claim is denied.

You need to respond promptly to the court papers as strict time limits apply.

Info how to respond here :

http://legalbeagles.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?105-Received-a-Court-Claim