Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Mum2emily
    • By Mum2emily 17th Apr 17, 5:17 PM
    • 5Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Mum2emily
    Confused over whether to do IVA or DMP
    • 17th Apr 17, 5:17 PM
    Confused over whether to do IVA or DMP 17th Apr 17 at 5:17 PM
    Hi, newbie here and have spent the last couple of weeks incredibly confused as to whether to go for IVA or DMP. I have spoken to stepchange who have advised IVA but alternative DMP. I have debts totalling £28k and under IVA I would have to pay £293 a month for 5/6 years and there would be a restriction put on selling my house I have with my exhusband which is currently rented out and has no equity at present. Under DMP I would pay £253 a month for first 4 years then when my HP finishes pay £388 for a further 3 years (so 7 years in total). The thing that puts me off the IVA option is the house. I would not want to remortgage with my ex in the future-the plan is to sell this house in around 3/4 years (I would be happy to hand over any equity). I then think if I was on a DMP it wouldn't last much longer than IVA but I could keep any profit from house sale to maybe make settlement offers/pay more off my debt. I am just scared on DMP that my creditors won't freeze/lower interest and it will take much longer to pay and that they will pursue the debt. My creditors are Tesco, barclaycard and HSBC, currently I have not missed any payments and there are no arrears.

Any help/advice from others on DMP would be greatly appreciated. I have all the paperwork for IVA and DMP just can't make a decision