Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • joiningbattle
    • By joiningbattle 15th Apr 17, 10:08 PM
    • 8Posts
    • 5Thanks
    joiningbattle
    £160 fine for no permit - county court
    • 15th Apr 17, 10:08 PM
    £160 fine for no permit - county court 15th Apr 17 at 10:08 PM
    Hi there
    1. I am a newbie. I have to send off my defence for the county court THIS TUESDAY.
    2. I have already made lots of mistakes - eg I threw away all the paperwork to do with the claim. Responded to none of it - apart from the court action.
    BUT, having come across this site, wish to make amends!!

Would very much appreciate any help with the defence.

3. Short version: I parked for 50 minutes in what looked like a carpark. I returned to find a 'fine' on the car. Looked around for a while and saw a couple of signs, 10ft off the ground, one half covered, saying 'permit holders only'. The fine was for £100 (reduced to £60 if you pay up quick) But since then went to £160 as I ignored it. I was there at 7pm - no other car around. This was Sept 2014. The debt was bought by MIL Collections who are taking me to court - and asking for £50 'expenses' on top!
    4. For my defence I will use:

a. lousy signage (plus pics)

b. unconscionable' invoice - £160

c.Locus standi
    The Claimant has provided no evidence that there was a valid assignment of debt, in the form of a Deed of Assignment signed by the original creditor, pursuant to s136 of the Law of Property Act 1925.As such evidence is absent, the Claimant has no locus in this matter.

d. champerty and maintenance