Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Mohammedahmed
    • By Mohammedahmed 20th Mar 17, 3:30 PM
    • 7Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Mohammedahmed
    Child tax credits/isa and adults too
    • 20th Mar 17, 3:30 PM
    Child tax credits/isa and adults too 20th Mar 17 at 3:30 PM
    Hi all I'm new to this so I apologise if I get it wrong.

My wife and I are married and about to have two babies (April). I work full time and earn about £45k gross. My wife worked partime doing 24hrs a week on a full time salary of £45k both of us work in the public sector and have pensions through work. What we would like some help on is ...

Child care vouchers - should we get tax credits or vouchers through work? For when my wife goes back may 18 to work what are we entitled to and benefit us
    Should we be opening a lifetime isa or savings account which would be best

And for ourselves - we have our own isa accounts should we be looking at getting either a new one or change ( I have less than 1k my wife has about 12k) and need access. We own our own home and looking to maybe buy a second a few years down the line.

I know so many questions help on this topic is appreciated
Page 1
    • Darksparkle
    • By Darksparkle 20th Mar 17, 4:00 PM
    • 4,256 Posts
    • 2,704 Thanks
    Darksparkle
    • 20th Mar 17, 4:00 PM
    • 20th Mar 17, 4:00 PM
    There is a calculator on the gov site that will tell you whether tax credits or vouchers is the best option or whether vouchers or tax free childcare is the best option.