Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • strawberries1
    • By strawberries1 20th Mar 17, 11:21 AM
    • 639Posts
    • 136Thanks
    strawberries1
    Tools, Tricks & Advice For Comparing 2yr & 5yr Fixed term Mortgage.
    • 20th Mar 17, 11:21 AM
    Tools, Tricks & Advice For Comparing 2yr & 5yr Fixed term Mortgage. 20th Mar 17 at 11:21 AM
    Hi everyone,

This is my first time getting a mortgage and I'm looking for tools I can use to compare fixed term mortgages.

How do I decide on whether the 2yr is better for me than the 5yr in terms of cost and potential interest rate rises? I feel the rates will on average stay the same over the next 5yrs. .25% raise here and a .25% cut there. I'm considering the 5yr fix cos I might want to go self emp at some point.

To compare a 2 and 5yr mortgage I multiplied the 2yr one by 2.5 but then the 5yr one has fees. Do I divide and then spread it over the full 5yrs for a true comparison?

I'll like to know how much is the sum by which the 5yr is more expensive so that I can decide whether it is worth it for the certainty.

Sorry if I've not articulated my thoughts/question properly. Please ask and I'll clarify as best I can.
Page 1
    • getmore4less
    • By getmore4less 20th Mar 17, 2:01 PM
    • 30,006 Posts
    • 17,934 Thanks
    getmore4less
    • 20th Mar 17, 2:01 PM
    • 20th Mar 17, 2:01 PM
    Add the fees make the payments the same then and play with the rates and amounts owing over 5 years.

Only one variable(with fees on renewing) to worry about.
    • kingstreet
    • By kingstreet 20th Mar 17, 2:25 PM