Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Max4848
    • By Max4848 18th Mar 17, 10:29 PM
    • 11Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Max4848
    Quitting self-employed Deliveroo - can I claim JSA?
    • 18th Mar 17, 10:29 PM
    Quitting self-employed Deliveroo - can I claim JSA? 18th Mar 17 at 10:29 PM
    Hello, I work as a self-employed cyclist for Deliveroo. If I quit voluntarily can I claim JSA? Thanks
Page 1
    • pmlindyloo
    • By pmlindyloo 18th Mar 17, 10:47 PM
    • 10,378 Posts
    • 12,288 Thanks
    pmlindyloo
    • 18th Mar 17, 10:47 PM
    • 18th Mar 17, 10:47 PM
    Why do you want to leave?
    • Max4848
    • By Max4848 18th Mar 17, 10:57 PM
    • 11 Posts
    • 1 Thanks
    Max4848
    • 18th Mar 17, 10:57 PM
    • 18th Mar 17, 10:57 PM
    Why do you want to leave?
    Originally posted by pmlindyloo
    Can't get consistent full-time hours, and even if I could it's too physically demanding to keep it up. 40 hours is about 250 miles of cycling on average with my commute. My back is in agony and I spend all my free time in bed recovering from exhaustion!

But do I need a reason if I'm self-employed? Or do the same rules apply as voluntarily leaving employment?
    • pmlindyloo
    • By pmlindyloo 18th Mar 17, 11:22 PM
    • 10,378 Posts
    • 12,288 Thanks
    pmlindyloo
    • 18th Mar 17, 11:22 PM
    • 18th Mar 17, 11:22 PM
    Do you have a contract of service?