Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Dave_Lister
    • By Dave_Lister 17th Mar 17, 3:06 AM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Dave_Lister
    Help! - Lowell Debt - Received County Court Claim Form
    • 17th Mar 17, 3:06 AM
    Help! - Lowell Debt - Received County Court Claim Form 17th Mar 17 at 3:06 AM
    Hi, I'm hoping somebody can help me out - I'm very new to all of this and not quite sure how to proceed so would really appreciate some input from a pro.

I'm trying to help my mum out, she panicking because she's just received a Claim Form from the County Court Business Centre regarding an old HBOS credit card debt (approx £1000).

I've looked through several forums and posts but am still uncertain of exactly what to do now. She's never contacted the DCA, nor made any payments to them. Believe the debt might be Stature Barred, however not certain. (Unsure when the last payment was made or when the account defaulted). I hope her memory is correct when she estimates the default to have happened around 2009/2010 - however she recalls that the bank exercised their right to set-off funds from one of her other accounts to pay part of the debt, before ultimately selling it to a DCA (Does anyone know if this counts as a payment and resets the 6 year clock?)

What should my approach be to challenging this debt that is quite probably, but not definitely statute barred?