Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • earthan7dor1
    • By earthan7dor1 14th Mar 17, 10:53 PM
    • 21Posts
    • 0Thanks
    earthan7dor1
    A camping issue - Is this right, legal or fair?
    • 14th Mar 17, 10:53 PM
    A camping issue - Is this right, legal or fair? 14th Mar 17 at 10:53 PM
    I am new to camping, and to this official camping site. I fist came to store my caravan. But on 2nd January, having been pressured into a membership/joining fee; as a 'senior' entitles 25% discount. Having now paid, I learned 'discount' does not apply to 'high season' or 'serviced pitch'. I was offered a deal whereby I am on site for 28 days, I leave for one day (2 x half days) paying almost £6 to leave my van sited for that day. I then return and start another 28 day cycle. I was told I could keep doing this as the site is open all year. I wasn't looking to be there ad infinitum, but this deal would give me unrushed breathing space.
    So I did this for January and February. Towards the end of February when I went to pay my March fee, I was unceremoneously ordered to leave the site at the end of March as they had booked my pitch out for April (without asking, advising,warning me they will do this). Nor did they offer any alternative, storage facilities, whatever else. The attitude was 'tough'.
    They said Head Office had booked the pitch, brooking no more discussion. So I rang 'customer services' department. They said the site does all its own bookings! Conflicting information, but not offered any solution.