Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Peon
    • By Peon 14th Mar 17, 7:59 PM
    • 8Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Peon
    Best way to save over 20+ years?
    • 14th Mar 17, 7:59 PM
    Best way to save over 20+ years? 14th Mar 17 at 7:59 PM
    I want to start saving for my one year old.

Looking for something I can pay into regularly and can maximise our return over 20+ years.

Preferably something low maintenance.

I don't mind taking some medium risk with the money.

Any suggestions?

I have no knowledge of investing money but willing to learn, as long as it's not too complex.
Page 1
    • jdw2000
    • By jdw2000 14th Mar 17, 8:05 PM
    • 415 Posts
    • 108 Thanks
    jdw2000
    • 14th Mar 17, 8:05 PM
    • 14th Mar 17, 8:05 PM
    JISA. Tax free.

What stocks/funds to invest in is a matter for your own research... But as your knowledge is minimum, and you want low-maintenance, I would look in the direction of "passive investing".
    • Peon
    • By Peon 14th Mar 17, 8:06 PM
    • 8 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    Peon
    • 14th Mar 17, 8:06 PM
    • 14th Mar 17, 8:06 PM
    JISA. Tax free.

What stocks/funds to invest in is a matter for your own research... But as your knowledge is minimum, and you want low-maintenance, I would look in the direction of "passive investing".
    Originally posted by jdw2000
    Thanks. Any particular ones you recommend?
    • AnotherJoe
    • By AnotherJoe 14th Mar 17, 8:41 PM
    • 6,526 Posts
    • 6,943 Thanks
    AnotherJoe
    • 14th Mar 17, 8:41 PM