Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • connieisher
    • By connieisher 14th Mar 17, 3:52 PM
    • 7Posts
    • 0Thanks
    connieisher
    Tax Credits overpayment, self employed, please someone HELP!
    • 14th Mar 17, 3:52 PM
    Tax Credits overpayment, self employed, please someone HELP! 14th Mar 17 at 3:52 PM
    I have been claiming tax credits since 2007 and from 2009 my husband has been self employed. It has always been difficult to estimate his future years income. I have always got it wrong by a few grand, that has never been an issue. Tax credits always reduced my entitlement the following year so they retrieved any over payments.
    In 2013 my husband was made redundant, I informed tax credits as soon as my husband was made redundant and what my husband had earned so far for that year (£3,000). As soon as he found work again (self employed ) I informed them and increased his estimation by £1,000. At the end of that financial year I gave them his gross £7,100 & net £4,500. When I received the letter confirming our income it said £7,100 I phoned and appealed to get it changed they refused.
    I them estimated £15,000 for following year as I or my husband didn't have a clue we calculated his past 6 weeks income and went on that basis. He ended up earning 19,000 I had received overpayment and believed it would be taken of my future entitlement like it had done in previous years. I then know and my husband knew the following year he would earn a few bonuses. So I estimated £25,000 he ended up earning £30,000.