Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Imelda
    • By Imelda 14th Mar 17, 2:38 PM
    • 1,262Posts
    • 1,546Thanks
    Imelda
    Help for a complete novice!
    • 14th Mar 17, 2:38 PM
    Help for a complete novice! 14th Mar 17 at 2:38 PM
    A bit of background, I am married with a 2yr old and one on the way.

My husband is a top rate tax payer, I work part time and earn around £18k p.a (about to go on maternity leave).

We share all of our money but I mainly deal with the monthly bill stuff and he deals with the "bigger picture" savings..... except he just isn't. We are wasting so much money every month and my husband just seems to be ignoring it all (the irony being he is an accountant!)

We are mortgage free and save a significant amount each month (£5k or so). Broken down as follows:

£65k each in cash ISAs 0.5% (just found this out today!) we haven't put in for this tax year yet
    £50k in an instant access savings account 0.5% - rainy day fund as my husband's job is always looking dodgy.
    £12k instant access savings for holidays/ house maintenance (we are in the final stages of a complete renovation project) 0.5%
    £2.1k regular saver (save £300 per month)
    £265k - ns&i (0.8%) this is ear marked to go towards school fees in the future (from 2019)

All except ISAs are in my name for tax reasons.