Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • MrWizard
    • By MrWizard 12th Mar 17, 8:48 PM
    • 13Posts
    • 1Thanks
    MrWizard
    Funds taxation
    • 12th Mar 17, 8:48 PM
    Funds taxation 12th Mar 17 at 8:48 PM
    Hello,

Fed up with the low interest rates, and they are getting lower. Funds really interest me as an alternative.

I'm really new to this and have a lot more research to do but what I can't seem to figure out is if I need to pay tax in other countries, probably not, but want to double check.

Lets take the Vanguard LifeStrategy 80% as an example. The majority of stocks is held in the US and then other countries. I know if I traded stocks in the US I'd have to file a US tax form. Is the rules different in funds or do I have to look at the tax in each country?

Technically I'm not the one trading in the countries but in theory it's my money.

In the UK we pay 0.5% on buying, automatically? Then up to 5,000 dividend tax free?

Thanks
Page 1
    • jimjames
    • By jimjames 12th Mar 17, 9:33 PM
    • 11,769 Posts
    • 10,120 Thanks
    jimjames
    • 12th Mar 17, 9:33 PM
    No if you're buying through a fund then you don't need to worry about that at all. You pay the fund manager and they deal with the admin.

The dividend allowance is only relevant outside an ISA but is now being cut to 2000.
    Remember the saying: if it looks too good to be true it almost certainly is.
    • xylophone
    • By xylophone 12th Mar 17, 9:33 PM
    • 21,273 Posts
    • 12,214 Thanks
    xylophone