Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • TheLittleSaver
    • By TheLittleSaver 9th Mar 17, 4:28 PM
    • 12Posts
    • 0Thanks
    TheLittleSaver
    pension scheme for self employed (UK)
    • 9th Mar 17, 4:28 PM
    pension scheme for self employed (UK) 9th Mar 17 at 4:28 PM
    Hi everyone

I am 32 and live in UK, registered as self employed. I have been working here for around 4 years (so hopefully I won't be kicked out after Brexit), but like a stupid I never thought properly about pension until now! So I would like to start doing something about it, without wasting more precious time.

I did a research, I know there are mainly three types of pension scheme:

- Personal pensions
    - Stakeholder pensions
    - Self-invested personal pensions (SIPPs)

And now the state pension is open to self employed as well.
    So, as far as I could understand, a SIPP might need too much "effort" and knowledge to do it properly, managing the risk, etc... so perhaps for my situation the choice would be between a personal pension and a Stakeholder pension?
    Also, I think I could/should start a state pension too? Or should I just keep saving my money, as I am already doing (as I always thought "I can put some money in another account each month, rather than putting that money in a pension scheme")?
    What can you suggest me?
    I would really appreciate any kind of suggestions you could possible give me, as this is a new territory for me and got a bit lost in all choices.

Thank you very much!
    Last edited by TheLittleSaver; 09-03-2017 at 4:33 PM.
Page 1