Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • bma14
    • By bma14 1st Mar 17, 9:44 AM
    • 76Posts
    • 176Thanks
    bma14
    Preparing for adult life ..
    • 1st Mar 17, 9:44 AM
    Preparing for adult life .. 1st Mar 17 at 9:44 AM
    Hello,

I am a trainee lawyer approaching the end of my training. As of September I will be fully qualified and a (legitimate) adult

So at the turn of the year it got me thinking about trying to get my debts in order. I have student debts which come out of my wage monthly, but I also had around £2,000 worth of overdrafts used whilst I was at University. This overdraft makes me feel nervous and so I have set myself the challenge of clearing it before I qualify (1 September 2016).

I also do not know if I will be able to obtain a job automatically when I qualify, and so the less debt on my hands the better I think, in case the worst does happen!

At the end of January I tallied the total up and I have £2,001 to repay.

During February I was very good. I set up a piggy-banking structure and kept a forensic eye on my spending through the month to make sure it works. I own my own flat which I bought last year and so I made sure all of my bills were on the cheapest tariff I could find.

Throughout the month I managed to save £303 to put towards my overdraft repayment. That means I now have £1,698 left to repay!

For this time next month, I am aiming for a similar figure and hoping to be around £1,430.