Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Mogz44
    • By Mogz44 14th Feb 17, 11:14 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Mogz44
    Help to Buy ISA vs LISA
    • 14th Feb 17, 11:14 AM
    Help to Buy ISA vs LISA 14th Feb 17 at 11:14 AM
    Hello All,

I was wondering if anyone could provide me with some clarity on the above title. I currently have an active Help to Buy ISA of which I'm contributing the maximum £200 a month. I have been contributing to this for 12 months and so it stands at a grand total of £3,400 (excluding interest for simplification). To my understanding the LISA will be eligible for a 25% bonus of £1,000 per year on a maximum balance of £4,000.

My confusion is how the 25% bonuses are paid. From my reading the Help to Buy ISA 25% bonus is paid upon closure of the account so long as the money is being used for a first time house purchase up to the value of £250k. Am I correct in saying the LISA 25% bonus is paid annually for the first year and then monthly there after?

I understand you can only take advantage of one 25% bonus but as the LISA bonus is paid regularly and in "real time" so to speak how does this effect my eligibility in claiming the Help to Buy bonus should I choose this. Would the government then look to recoup the 25% bonus from my LISA account that has been paid over the lifetime of the account being open?

Thanks in advance.
Page 1
    • bowlhead99
    • By bowlhead99 14th Feb 17, 11:42 AM
    • 6,420 Posts
    • 11,365 Thanks
    bowlhead99
    • 14th Feb 17, 11:42 AM