Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • FearLM
    • By FearLM 18th Oct 16, 1:25 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    FearLM
    Can I get my default removed?
    • 18th Oct 16, 1:25 PM
    Can I get my default removed? 18th Oct 16 at 1:25 PM
    Hi, I'm new to this so bear with me.
    I got a default on my account from an unpaid student overdraft. I had spoken to the bank back in November as I was very unwell and no longer able to work, they put a hold on my account for 6 months so I would not have to pay anything and we could re-negotiate after this time.
    It's important to know that every time this bank have had to contact me they have called, I have only had a few letters from them (following phone calls) over 6 years.
    As a result of being unwell and unable to work or claim any sort of benefits I had to move out of my home as I could no longer afford it, I forgot to change my address with this bank, to be honest it just wasn't at the front of my mind.
    The bank never contacted me via phone, however this month I noticed I have a default from this account due to not starting to pay the overdraft after the 6 months.
    They said they sent me letters, though I did not receive them as I had changed address however they made no other attempt to get in contact. I feel this was unreasonable considering they usually call.