Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • DragonLady85
    • By DragonLady85 16th Oct 16, 12:30 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 1Thanks
    DragonLady85
    Looking for up-to-date advice for Debenhams PPI Claim
    • 16th Oct 16, 12:30 AM
    Looking for up-to-date advice for Debenhams PPI Claim 16th Oct 16 at 12:30 AM
    Hi everyone - I know this is a topic that's been posted about a lot, but I am completely new to this so I'd be hugely grateful for some current advice!

My mum took out a Debenhams store card in the early nineties, she still has it. She was approached by a PPI reclaim company to file a complaint and reclaim money she was owed, but she since decided not to work with them, which I'm relieved about as I don't want them taking a percentage of anything she's owed. She's recovering from an operation and my father is ill also, so I told her I'd try to handle it myself, find out who to write to, what she needs to do, etc.

Looking at past threads, I've seen lists about providers, banks, underwriters, everything about New Day, Genworth, Santander and the like, and many seem to give conflicting information about who to approach - I assume because legislation has changed several times?

I just want to know if anyone could give me definitive advice about who to contact first, and what she needs to provide - ie. do we contact Santander first, or New Day, or just contact the ombudsman? And if we're turned down by the first, who do we go to next? Is the ombudsman the 'last resort' for claims like these?