Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

• yellowbrick
    • By yellowbrick 15th Oct 16, 12:57 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Saturday confusion
    • 15th Oct 16, 12:57 PM
    Saturday confusion 15th Oct 16 at 12:57 PM
    As a newbie here, I've found this forum very useful and informative so no confusion there.
    My confusion comes from a letter received this morning from Amex, saying my account was being referred to external collections agency NCO.
    I'm currently on a DMP with StepChange and this Amex a/c is already with NCO and has been for a few years receiving regular payments.
    I thought I'd check on the NCO website with the reference number I have and it is now saying cancelled. That's the confusing thing - this months payment was paid on the 6th, the letter dated the 10th, so is it a case of sitting tight and waiting for further info from NCO & updating DMP online when this arrives (as I assume there will be a different reference number) or do I contact NCO direct?
    Many thanks in advance for any replies!
Page 1
    • sourcrates
    • By sourcrates 15th Oct 16, 1:10 PM
    • 7,803 Posts
    • 7,662 Thanks
    • 15th Oct 16, 1:10 PM
    • 15th Oct 16, 1:10 PM

Majority of these letters are computer generated, could be :

(A) System catching up

(B) Computer glitch

(C) Both of the above

(D) None of the above

Wait and see basically, stepchange will still make payment on your behalf, someone will claim it eventually.

For free debt advice please call National Debtline on
    0808 808 4000
    Monday to Friday
    9am to 9pm
    Saturday 9.30am to 1pm