Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • kteara
    • By kteara 13th Oct 16, 10:40 PM
    • 229Posts
    • 39Thanks
    kteara
    Budgeting advice for my new job on 18,000 per annum
    • 13th Oct 16, 10:40 PM
    Budgeting advice for my new job on 18,000 per annum 13th Oct 16 at 10:40 PM
    Hi everyone,

It's been a long time since I've posted here but I graduated university in May this year (2016) and I have since been working at a used car dealership, five minutes from my house. I've managed to land a job just now which is based on my IT degree at a prestigious company for 18k a year. What is everyone's thoughts on this salary?

It equates to 1283 per month after tax which I don't feel too amazing about but I have no other choice. I really am motivated by money and would like to earn as much as possible.Can you help me budget this money? I live at home and I only pay for the gym (37p/m) and my fuel for this job will cost me (120p/m)

I am considering staying at this used car dealership weekend which is an extra 320 per month, bringing it to a grand total of 1603 per month. This will be working 7 days a week which I don't mind doing in this current mindset.

Thanks!
    Last edited by kteara; 14-10-2016 at 8:17 AM.
Page 1
    • Joe_Bloggs
    • By Joe_Bloggs 13th Oct 16, 11:32 PM
    • 4,358 Posts
    • 1,541 Thanks
    Joe_Bloggs
    • 13th Oct 16, 11:32 PM
    • 13th Oct 16, 11:32 PM
    I am not a car owner. My car was stolen. It can never be replaced. If I lived in a rural environment then it would be a critical loss.