Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • pcn2014
    • By pcn2014 12th Oct 16, 9:33 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    pcn2014
    What should I do?
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:33 PM
    What should I do? 12th Oct 16 at 9:33 PM
    Hi everyone!

I recently checked by credit rating...I was surprised to find out that I have a 'fair' rating as I've never missed a DD payment. I don't have a credit card and don't need one, I don't spend more than I need to.
    But how do I go about improving my credit score??
    (I'm a recent graduate and only have 1 DD at the moment)

Thanks for the advice,

PCN
Page 1
    • zx81
    • By zx81 12th Oct 16, 9:38 PM
    • 9,319 Posts
    • 9,140 Thanks
    zx81
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:38 PM
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:38 PM
    You don't. Your score is irrelevant and not seen or used by anyone.

To build a good credit history. The best way is to get and use a credit card regularly, paying in full each month

With little credit history you will be viewed as high risk, so try either your own bank or a sub prime provider like aqua or Vanquis.

Also make sure you're on the ER.
    • pcn2014
    • By pcn2014 12th Oct 16, 9:53 PM
    • 3 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    pcn2014
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:53 PM
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:53 PM
    thanks for the reply.... I have a couple of questions.

Would getting an overdraft limit on a current account help improve my credit score?
    Also would I have to make purchases using a credit card for my credit score to improve, can I not get a credit card and not use it?
    • zx81
    • By zx81 13th Oct 16, 4:25 AM