Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • isibuko
    • By isibuko 12th Oct 16, 9:03 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    isibuko
    Surrender fees
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:03 AM
    Surrender fees 12th Oct 16 at 9:03 AM
    Hi. My fiancee and I have been renting a flat through an letting agent for 4 years now, but unfortunately our relationship recently came to an end. As I can't afford to live in the flat by myself, I am going to have to break the tenancy and move out.

As part of our tenancy agreement, we are responsible for the rent and upkeep until a new tenant moves in (which I totally get) but there is also a 'surrender fee' of 1 month's rent + VAT which, when I asked what it was for, apparently covers 'marketing costs etc' if we both move out. They have agreed to halve the fee if we find someone who can move in, but this seems odd too as presumably the new tenant would be covering the agency fees etc for this.

Has anyone seen one of these before? When I signed the tenancy agreement I didn't really foresee having to invoke a surrender so I know there is some culpability on my part, but is there grounds for this being an unfair clause? Does anyone have experience of anything like this, and is it worth the challenge?

Any advice would be gratefully received!
Page 1
    • davidmcn
    • By davidmcn 12th Oct 16, 9:08 AM
    • 3,885 Posts
    • 3,452 Thanks
    davidmcn
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:08 AM
    • 12th Oct 16, 9:08 AM
    Doubt it's worth challenging, bearing in mind that they aren't required to allow you to surrender the tenancy at all.