Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • nixnix87
    • By nixnix87 11th Oct 16, 10:29 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 2Thanks
    nixnix87
    Property Agent not set up Standing Order Mandate
    • 11th Oct 16, 10:29 PM
    Property Agent not set up Standing Order Mandate 11th Oct 16 at 10:29 PM
    Hi all. I'm new to this so I apologise if I'm doing something wrong here at all. If I am please tell me

I have recently (3weeks ago) moved into a rented property with my partner and a couple of nights ago we sat and I turned to him and said 'did the agency send us a standing order mandate to collect our rent?'......'errrrrr no they didn't'. This is not the first example of terrible service from this agency (am I allowed to name and shame them?) and we already have a case open with The Property Ombudsman over something else...

What I need to understand, is what are our rights as a tenant here? We decided to sit tight and let them grovel to us when they or the landlord realises that no rent has been collected. But is this the right thing to do or could we get ourselves into trouble? We already believe that we should not have to pay any late rent fees as it is not our fault that the rent has not been paid (or rather collected).

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks!
Page 1
    • Pixie5740
    • By Pixie5740 11th Oct 16, 10:36 PM
    • 8,872 Posts
    • 11,889 Thanks
    Pixie5740
    • 11th Oct 16, 10:36 PM
    • 11th Oct 16, 10:36 PM