Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Mark1987
    • By Mark1987 9th Oct 16, 6:05 PM
    • 63Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Mark1987
    First time buyer in London with 160k deposit
    • 9th Oct 16, 6:05 PM
    First time buyer in London with 160k deposit 9th Oct 16 at 6:05 PM
    Hi everyone!

I'll try to be short and direct without telling you the story of my life.
    I'm a 29yo single professional guy, currently living and working in west London. I think it's time to start looking for something to buy (I spend £1200 a month for the rent which means wasting a lot of money).

My savings are £160k and my current salary is £45k/year, which could raise to 50-55k within one year.

Considering 2 bedrooms properties, how would you move into the market? What property should I consider to pay a reasonable mortgage considering that I am single?

This would help me to have a generic idea since I don't know much about properties.
    If anyone knows London, I would like to consider areas from Staines to Isleworth/Brentford.

Thanks!
Page 1
    • Pixie5740
    • By Pixie5740 9th Oct 16, 6:08 PM
    • 8,872 Posts
    • 11,889 Thanks
    Pixie5740
    • 9th Oct 16, 6:08 PM
    • 9th Oct 16, 6:08 PM
    Play around with some online mortgage calculators, most lenders have them on their website. Once you have an idea of your budget that you I'll start to narrow down the kind of properties you can afford.