Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • TomHainesMusic
    • By TomHainesMusic 3rd Oct 16, 10:38 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    TomHainesMusic
    Mileage Claim Clarification
    • 3rd Oct 16, 10:38 AM
    Mileage Claim Clarification 3rd Oct 16 at 10:38 AM
    Hi All,

I am in need of some clarification when claiming mileage.

I am a freelance musician/composer/teacher and I travel to a number of different locations for gigs, meetings, workshops, lessons.

I am under the impression that the mileage incurred from the irregular / short-contract / one-off kinds of locations and projects are all allowable but I am unsure about some of the more regular work:

1) I do a gig at least once a month at the same venue (roundtrip approx. 38 miles each time). Am I right to think that this mileage is still allowable?

2) I teach for 2 evenings a week at (roughly) the same time and always the same location (roundtrip approx 36 miles each time). In the past I have claimed for these, but have recently started to doubt that this mileage is not allowable. The resulting income accounts for approximately 35% of my overall income.

Can someone please clarify what I can and cannot claim for in these circumstance,

Thanks is advance,

Tom
    Last edited by TomHainesMusic; 03-10-2016 at 12:04 PM.
Page 1
    • Robin9
    • By Robin9 3rd Oct 16, 4:50 PM
    • 1,078 Posts
    • 651 Thanks
    Robin9
    • 3rd Oct 16, 4:50 PM
    • 3rd Oct 16, 4:50 PM
    What do your various contracts of employment say? Unless its written into them there is nothing to be claimed.