Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Kpros
    • By Kpros 22nd Sep 16, 9:23 PM
    • 18Posts
    • 7Thanks
    Kpros
    Employment Law- Conflict of Interest Policies
    • 22nd Sep 16, 9:23 PM
    Employment Law- Conflict of Interest Policies 22nd Sep 16 at 9:23 PM
    Hi Guys,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to read this and help me.

I've been working for a company for 4 years now as a Regional Manager. From the very beginning I employed my brother who has worked under me for the duration of this time.

Out of the blue the company have warned me today that they are introducing a 'Conflict of Interest Policy' and after a conversation with my line manager it sounds as if they are going to be changing the fact that I am his manager.

First of all there has never been any issues that have questioned any conflict of interest and it is well known within the company that he does not get any preferential treatment. Although he is my brother we are not particularly close.

There have been a lot of changes in the company and I'm not even certain that I (or many of my colleagues) will be around in the near future but its hard to see past this being a deliberate ploy to make my circumstances even tougher than they are in a bid to put me in a position of jeopardy.