IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
A real work at home job
Closed Thread
Views: 281,230
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1361
jennyfowler
Old 06-01-2008, 8:44 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Default

when you have run the workbooth cd and then in the handbook you have to go to www.workbooth.info and click on calender and pick a date and then it should give you a password and a telephone number and mine doesnt seem to do that does yours let u ?
jennyfowler is offline
Report Post
# 1362
Oliver27
Old 06-01-2008, 10:02 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Glossop in Derbyshire
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jennyfowler View Post
when you have run the workbooth cd and then in the handbook you have to go to www.workbooth.info and click on calender and pick a date and then it should give you a password and a telephone number and mine doesnt seem to do that does yours let u ?
This stopped working sometime ago, they will do this as part of your training
now I believe
Oliver27 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Oliver27 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 1363
Oliver27
Old 06-01-2008, 10:21 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Glossop in Derbyshire
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kammyk View Post
Hi Oliver,

I am using an ethernet cable. I cant see a usb connection on my router.

What do you recommend I do? I am actually connected to the internet via the router, right now using just the ethernet cable that is connected to the router, So why is it preventing me to get a IP when im using the workbooth software?

I really appreciate everyones help.

Thanks
There have been a few people in the same boat KammyK
it may be that your network adaptor in your laptop is not
compatible with the Workbooth CD

The solution for others has been to get a USB to Ethernet adaptor
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Belkin-USB-1...9614699&sr=8-1
and use this instead of the built in Ethernet adaptor

The Belkin one above definitely works in Workbooth,
there are some cheepo ones on Amazon too
http://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-ETHERNET...9614699&sr=8-1
cant confirm if they will work ok but worth a try at 99p
maybe

Last edited by Oliver27; 06-01-2008 at 10:29 AM.
Oliver27 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Oliver27 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 1364
dawnydee73
Old 06-01-2008, 12:33 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,540
Default

When we did the training, they gots us to run the wookbooth cd within the first couple of days, then if anyone did have problems they had the tech people on hand to help. I wouldn't worry to much, its the 3rd week you will need to have the workbooth up and running, everyone in our training group manage and there were a few that had problems also with the workbooth cd
dawnydee73 is offline
Report Post
# 1365
duchy
Old 06-01-2008, 12:50 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10,897
Default

I'm having fun and games with this too. First I got the Non public non nat IP address message (I'm on Virgin) so had a look back though the original thread and found that I needed to put a router in line-now I've done that.......and I get the dchp -unable to obtain ip address message <sigh>
Popping out to Maplins shortly to buy a USB to Ethernet adaptor
Isn't this fun !!
I Would Rather Climb A Mountain Than Crawl Into A Hole
[/FONT][/SIZE]
[/SIZE][/COLOR]
duchy is offline
Report Post
# 1366
kammyk
Old 06-01-2008, 1:13 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South East
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duchy View Post
I'm having fun and games with this too. First I got the Non public non nat IP address message (I'm on Virgin) so had a look back though the original thread and found that I needed to put a router in line-now I've done that.......and I get the dchp -unable to obtain ip address message <sigh>
Popping out to Maplins shortly to buy a USB to Ethernet adaptor
Isn't this fun !!
Thanks guys, I was up all night untill about 3am!! trying to figure it out before I just gave up lol

Duchy, please could you let me know how you get on.
kammyk is offline
Report Post
# 1367
kammyk
Old 06-01-2008, 1:18 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South East
Posts: 169
Default

Has anyone brought a headset for the training? Just wondering if it would make things easier?

Last edited by kammyk; 06-01-2008 at 1:21 PM.
kammyk is offline
Report Post
# 1368
duchy
Old 06-01-2008, 1:23 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10,897
Default

Bah Maplins have sold out !!
Double ARGGGH !
Techy friend is suggesting an ethernet driver might solve the problem so about to go find one as no-where locally that is open today has the cable anyway.
I Would Rather Climb A Mountain Than Crawl Into A Hole
[/FONT][/SIZE]
[/SIZE][/COLOR]

Last edited by duchy; 06-01-2008 at 2:23 PM.
duchy is offline
Report Post
# 1369
kammyk
Old 06-01-2008, 5:10 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South East
Posts: 169
Default

Hey,

Did you manage to solve the problem?
kammyk is offline
Report Post
# 1370
dawnydee73
Old 06-01-2008, 6:25 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,540
Default

Stop panicking, they will go thro any issues with your workbooth CD in training
dawnydee73 is offline
Report Post
# 1371
dawnydee73
Old 06-01-2008, 6:26 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,540
Default

And good luck to all those who start they training tomorrow
dawnydee73 is offline
Report Post
# 1372
duchy
Old 06-01-2008, 6:28 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10,897
Default

Who's panicking ? Not me-I just don't allow any lump of technology get the better of me !!
(Seems to be OK now-didn't bother downloading the driver in the end)
I Would Rather Climb A Mountain Than Crawl Into A Hole
[/FONT][/SIZE]
[/SIZE][/COLOR]
duchy is offline
Report Post
# 1373
Koy
Old 06-01-2008, 8:41 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kammyk View Post
Has anyone brought a headset for the training? Just wondering if it would make things easier?
I bought a new Plug in telephone with the speakerphone from argos for 7.99 but the microphone when you have it on speaker phone is pretty quiet...

I'm not sure where I am going to get my headset from?
Koy is offline
Report Post
# 1374
Oliver27
Old 06-01-2008, 8:56 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Glossop in Derbyshire
Posts: 601
Default

Dont worry about that you get a phone/headset from teletech
once your in training
Oliver27 is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Oliver27 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 1375
BlueyHSI
Old 06-01-2008, 10:11 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jennyfowler View Post
well i get all that and the box to type test then i get asked to add username and password and then im told that it hasnt been posted ive been doing this all day
I get this too, after I type 'test' I then get asked for my hirepoint ID and email address. I don't have a hirepoint ID yet and it isn't my username I registered with on the site to apply for the job?
BlueyHSI is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to BlueyHSI For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 1376
duchy
Old 07-01-2008, 9:06 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueyHSI View Post
I get this too, after I type 'test' I then get asked for my hirepoint ID and email address. I don't have a hirepoint ID yet and it isn't my username I registered with on the site to apply for the job?
That's as far as I get too-in the end I assumed that was as far as you are expected to get and the info gets given to you to go further in training.
See y'all at 5-if anyone wants my MSN just PM
I Would Rather Climb A Mountain Than Crawl Into A Hole
[/FONT][/SIZE]
[/SIZE][/COLOR]
duchy is offline
Report Post
# 1377
rufus t
Old 07-01-2008, 4:11 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default Sounds interesting - but a few questions

This sounds ok and something I'm interested in but I've got a few questions if you'd be so kind.

How flexible is it? I'd like to do 20 hours, but over 2 days. I have my son some evenings and the 7-11 would be great some nights, but not every night. Likewise weekends.

Is it also like a 'normal' job where you get so many days holiday a year; do you have to commit for a certain length contract, or can you work say for one month and then have a month off?

I am very interested, I just have an unusual schedule where I couldn't work the same times every week?

Thanks.
Win 2008 in 2008 club member 536
rufus t is offline
Report Post
# 1378
kammyk
Old 07-01-2008, 4:40 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South East
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rufus t View Post
This sounds ok and something I'm interested in but I've got a few questions if you'd be so kind.

How flexible is it? I'd like to do 20 hours, but over 2 days. I have my son some evenings and the 7-11 would be great some nights, but not every night. Likewise weekends.

Is it also like a 'normal' job where you get so many days holiday a year; do you have to commit for a certain length contract, or can you work say for one month and then have a month off?

I am very interested, I just have an unusual schedule where I couldn't work the same times every week?

Thanks.
I think you would need to work the same hours/time each week, Otherwise they would need re-schedule the hours each week, to suit your needs. You are allowed to do 4 hour shifts each day, I think! So you would have to do at least 5 days.

Please check with someone who has worked for them a while to confirm, as I am just starting out.

Good Luck!
kammyk is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to kammyk For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 1379
rufus t
Old 07-01-2008, 5:14 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Thanks,

I'll let you know how I get on.
Win 2008 in 2008 club member 536
rufus t is offline
Report Post
# 1380
kammyk
Old 07-01-2008, 5:58 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South East
Posts: 169
Default

some of the questions people are asking are hilarious!
kammyk is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:42 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 23 April 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 87
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSFROZEN (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK)
  • BRUCE SPRINGSTEENAMERICAN BEAUTY

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.