First credit card - How to improve credit rating?

Hi guys,

Sorry if this is a painfully obvious question.

I've just been approved by Capital One for my first credit card. I don't have any debt or anything, i just figured it would be a good idea to start building up my credit score for the future.

As mentioned, this is my first credit card so i'm very new to all of this. How exactly do i start building my credit score? Can i just pay for something on my credit card then log in to my online banking account and pay off the balance straight away? Or do i have to leave it for a bit?

Comments

• Tixy
    Tixy Posts: 31,455 Forumite
    You need to wait and pay after the statement is generated.

Ideally you would use it to buy a small number of puchases each month, wait for the statement and then pay in full (ensuring your payment will reach the account before the due date).
    A smile enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give
    or "It costs nowt to be nice"
  • Thanks for the reply.

So just to clarify, i could spend say, £50 on something. Then the lender would send me a statement (assuming monthly?), then at that point i pay it off in full? Won't i get affected by the high interest rates if i do this?
  • Tixy
    Tixy Posts: 31,455 Forumite
    If you clear each statement in full then you do not get charged interest. So your terms will say something like up to 53 days interest free credit - this is what they mean.

The statements come roughly monthly and you then usually have at least 2weeks from the statement date to the due date to pay in full (your statement will show the due date).

If you don't wait for the statement and pay straight away then it can be reported to your credit reports as though you are not actually using any credit (and so doesn't help you build up a positive credit history).
    A smile enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give
    or "It costs nowt to be nice"
  • TheRed
    TheRed Posts: 52