Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > Smart TV Wifi Dongle.. (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Smart TV Wifi Dongle..
Reply
Views: 10,225
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
hjb123
Old 01-01-2013, 5:44 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31,622
Default Smart TV Wifi Dongle..

I am looking at getting a Smart TV, just about decided on a Samsung one but had a couple of questions that cant seem to work out - if the wireless isnt built in does the dongle have to be the same brand as the TV? ie, would I have to buy a samsung one or be able to use an LG or a cheaper one or one thats actually in stock somewhere!

Is it also better/make a difference if the wireless is built in or via a dongle?

thanks
Weight Loss - 102lb
hjb123 is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
# 2
-TangleFoot-
Old 01-01-2013, 7:21 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Monmouthshire
Posts: 4,595
Default

Chipset is more important than brand. Finding a compatible adapter (if one is available) will require some research into the nature of the official one.

Example: Panasonic DY-WL10 / Netgear WNDA3100 v.2
-TangleFoot- is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to -TangleFoot- For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
chrisw
Old 01-01-2013, 7:28 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,151
Default

My Samsung will only use the Samsung dongle. I've got it connected to the internet via homeplugs instead which worked out a lot cheaper.
chrisw is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chrisw For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
bleepandbooster
Old 01-01-2013, 7:44 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 398
Default

I use this one on our Samsung tv http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B001...=sr_1_2&sr=8-2

The link is a few months old .... but the dongle is working fine.

cofion
David
bleepandbooster is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to bleepandbooster For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
hjb123
Old 01-01-2013, 9:03 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31,622
Default

Thanks for the replies, hoping to get it sorted this week, my old tv is being extremely tempremental! Im assuming a dongle doesnt come with the tv? - it doesnt actually state whether its included or not - its either said to be built in or via dongle (but doesnt say included or not included?!)

Thanks
Weight Loss - 102lb
hjb123 is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
# 6
-TangleFoot-
Old 01-01-2013, 9:31 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Monmouthshire
Posts: 4,595
Default

If it's not built-in, it's not included. Ever.
-TangleFoot- is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to -TangleFoot- For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
bleepandbooster
Old 01-01-2013, 9:35 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 398
Default

No ... when we bought ours I asked in the shop and was told that any wireless dongle would do ! So I plugged in a dongle that I already had and bingo .... nothing happened. So a bit of research on here and someone suggested the Hama dongle. It was alot cheaper at the time than the Samsung one and works fine.

cofion
David
bleepandbooster is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to bleepandbooster For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
-TangleFoot-
Old 01-01-2013, 9:49 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Monmouthshire
Posts: 4,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bleepandbooster View Post
...suggested the Hama dongle.
The 062740? RT2870 and/or RT2820.
-TangleFoot- is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to -TangleFoot- For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 9
hjb123
Old 02-01-2013, 4:25 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31,622
Default

Thanks for the replies, im still slightly torn between getting one with wifi built in or ne that needs a dongle, works out roughly same price - is either way any better than the other?
Thanks
Weight Loss - 102lb
hjb123 is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
# 10
custardy
Old 02-01-2013, 4:58 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 28,506
Default

or get a homeplug/run ethernet to the TV
custardy is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to custardy For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 11
hjb123
Old 02-01-2013, 5:08 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by custardy View Post
or get a homeplug/run ethernet to the TV
Thanks for that, am being thick but what does that involve? The room where the tv is going ti go is as far away from the bt broadband hub as can get!

Thanks
Weight Loss - 102lb
hjb123 is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
# 12
custardy
Old 02-01-2013, 5:19 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 28,506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjb123 View Post
Thanks for that, am being thick but what does that involve? The room where the tv is going ti go is as far away from the bt broadband hub as can get!

Thanks
well for cable its a case of hiding/installing

for homeplugs
you run an ethernet cable from the router to the homeplug
plug the hoeplug into a power socket
then plug the other in near the TV
run an ethernet cable from that homeplug to the TV
custardy is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to custardy For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 13
-TangleFoot-
Old 02-01-2013, 12:06 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Monmouthshire
Posts: 4,595
Default

Cost:
-TangleFoot- is offline
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to -TangleFoot- For This Useful Post: Show me >>
Reply

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 1:59 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 26 November 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.