Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Phones & TV > Broadband & Internet Access > Has anyone used an old BT router on TalkTalk? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Has anyone used an old BT router on TalkTalk?
Closed Thread
Views: 7,432
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
gillette147
Old 02-04-2007, 9:12 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In the Lap of the Gods
Posts: 12,739
Default Has anyone used an old BT router on TalkTalk?

Hi,

I've just cancelled my BT BB and want to go with TalkTalk.
I have a BT Voyager 2091 wireless router which is ADSL.

TalkTalk say you need a ADSL2 router.

Does anyone know if I will be ok to use mine with them (TT won't commit themselves).

So has anyone done this?

Cheers
Girls are gonna love the way I toss my hair. Boys are gonna hate the way I seem.

I would rather drown with you than watch the surf with someone else
gillette147 is offline
Report Post
# 2
espresso
Old 03-04-2007, 11:19 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15,908
Default

You do not need an ADSL2 router to use TalkTalk, however your BT Voyager 2091 router may be locked so that it will only connect to BT. It is possible to unlock these but it is not for everyone! see here for more info.
espresso is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to espresso For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
gillette147
Old 03-04-2007, 12:24 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In the Lap of the Gods
Posts: 12,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso View Post
You do not need an ADSL2 router to use TalkTalk, however your BT Voyager 2091 router may be locked so that it will only connect to BT. It is possible to unlock these but it is not for everyone! see here for more info.
I paid 50 for this wireless router from BT.
And they've locked it!!!!!!

I don't like how the support for that hack site seems to have waned.
I am really stuck as to what to do now.

Do TalkTalk offer a wireless router ?
Can I connect their modem to my wireless router as a means of getting wifi?

Groan.
Girls are gonna love the way I toss my hair. Boys are gonna hate the way I seem.

I would rather drown with you than watch the surf with someone else
gillette147 is offline
Report Post
# 4
espresso
Old 03-04-2007, 12:32 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gillette147 View Post
I paid £50 for this wireless router from BT.
And they've locked it!!!!!!

Yes I agree that this is a despicable practise by BT

I don't like how the support for that hack site seems to have waned.
I am really stuck as to what to do now.

I don't know what you mean by this, if the routers firmware has been cracked to unlock it, what more do you expect? It's history now!

Do TalkTalk offer a wireless router ?

I'm sure that they do but not for free! I believe that they even charge for a basic modem.

Can I connect their modem to my wireless router as a means of getting wifi?

No because as it's an ADSL modem with a built in modem it does not have a connector to connect to their modem.

Groan.
Agreed, BB in this country is male bovine genitalia!
espresso is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to espresso For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
gillette147
Old 03-04-2007, 12:49 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In the Lap of the Gods
Posts: 12,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso View Post
I don't like how the support for that hack site seems to have waned.
I am really stuck as to what to do now.

I don't know what you mean by this, if the routers firmware has been cracked to unlock it, what more do you expect? It's history now!


I meant....
if you read the thread at the bottom there are people who are saying they are having problems (granted not always with 2091's) and no-one has answered them. Judging from the dates this thread started in 2005. And the last reply is about 6 months ago.

So if I do this, and it doesn't work, then I don't hold out much hope of any further help.


BTW
You are right, they charge 29.99 for a modem.
And TalkTalk recommend a Netgear wireless router for 69.99!!
Thanks - I need to get my head around my options in a dark room.
Girls are gonna love the way I toss my hair. Boys are gonna hate the way I seem.

I would rather drown with you than watch the surf with someone else
gillette147 is offline
Report Post
# 6
millie
Old 04-04-2007, 10:02 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 837
Default

We have just changed to Talk Talk using a Linskeys wireless router, we have had a few problems but after spending an hour and 40 minutes on the phone to their technical dept. via a free phone number everything is working fine. The technical support was brilliant they just kept going until everything was working. I cannot praise them enough.
millie is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to millie For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
gillette147
Old 03-05-2007, 11:01 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In the Lap of the Gods
Posts: 12,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso View Post
You do not need an ADSL2 router to use TalkTalk, however your BT Voyager 2091 router may be locked so that it will only connect to BT. It is possible to unlock these but it is not for everyone! see here for more info.
Hi again,

So far Talktalk have been rubbish.
They still haven't sent me my welcome pack.
Phoned Monday and they said go live was on the tuesday so wouldn't talk to me.
Phoned Tuedsay and was fobbed off.
Phoned yesterday - on hold for 50mins and then cut off.
Phoned today and told my username and password.

But......

Can vouch for the above "upgrade". I was locked out of using a non-BT IP as suspected. So I followed the instructions on the link above and it now works (as is proved by this post).

I will find another espresso post and thank them again, because once isn't enough.

Good luck to anyone else trying to use a wireless router they paid for and find it locked by BT.
Girls are gonna love the way I toss my hair. Boys are gonna hate the way I seem.

I would rather drown with you than watch the surf with someone else
gillette147 is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:11 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 23 April 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile
  • Thank you to my very high powered 'runner' @Marthakearney who kindly helped me escape from BBC Broadcasting House when the lifts were full.
  • So if you've got questions about CPP or travel money - I'm taking them now on @bbc5live - so do tweet us them
  • RT @bbc5live: Want to get the most out of your holiday money? Of course you do! @MartinSLewis is taking Qs on travel money on Consumer Team?

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 87
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSFROZEN (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK)
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL 21ST CENTURY

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.