Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    tabtrade
    Scottish Amicable mortgage protection PPI ?
    • 7th Aug 12, 10:40 AM
    Scottish Amicable mortgage protection PPI ? 7th Aug 12 at 10:40 AM
    Sorry I'm new to all this, I took out a mortgage protection plan with Scottish Amicable back in 2001, it was very heavily sold to us and we were pushed in to it by a financial planning company, it was very expensive (£60 a month for a £30000 Mortgage) and we couldn't afford it so we only paid in to it for a few months, my question is would it be worth trying to claim this back as it was only paid for a few months and its over 10 years ago so i doubt they will still have records ?

Any help or pointers much appreciated.
    Thankyou
Page 1
    • magpiecottage
    • By magpiecottage 7th Aug 12, 11:06 AM
    • 9,028 Posts
    • 5,507 Thanks
    magpiecottage
    • 7th Aug 12, 11:06 AM
    • 7th Aug 12, 11:06 AM
    Scottish Amicable is a life assurance company, not a PPI provider.

So this seems to be a life assurance policy, possibly with Critical Illness cover.

Unless there was an investment element involved, such a policy would not have been regulated at the time of the sale and, since it was not actually sold by an employee of a mortgage lender or insurance company, FOS would have no jurisdiction.

In addition, it is unlikely that, after 11 years, any evidence survives.
    It is a statement of fact, not an advertisement, that I investigate complaints against small firms of financial advisers for a living.