IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Repairs to guttering and downpipe
Closed Thread
Views: 1,078
# 1
SternMusik
Old 31-07-2012, 1:36 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart

Default Repairs to guttering and downpipe

I am a newbie homeowner and therefore have no idea how much repairs cost. Hope someone can help me out.

The guttering at the back of my house (small three bed semi) has a few problems: It slopes downwards at the end where there isn't a downpipe, causing water to pour out at an alarming rate when it rains. It seems that one of the clips/brackets holding the guttering up needs replacing.

Also, two brackets securing the downpipe to the house have gone thanks to corrosion and need replacing. I want all guttering cleared of leaves etc as well, front and back. Then there is a small issue with the water butt not filling up.

I asked a local property maintenance firm for a quote and they came back with 50 for materials and 120 for labour. Am I right in thinking that this is excessive?
# 2
SailorSam
Old 31-07-2012, 1:51 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee

50 sounds a lot for for a couple of clips and a new downspout. Check it out in B&q. If you don't mind getting up the ladder yourself clearing gutters is not a big job. There are lots of videos on google or youtube, look at them before getting someone in, at least you'll know what they're going to do for their money.
Now that i'm what you could describe as an older person i've stopped eating health foods.
I need all the preservatives i can get.

The Following User Says Thank You to SailorSam For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
SternMusik
Old 31-07-2012, 2:36 PM