Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Motoring > Buy and Import a Motorhome from America (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Buy and Import a Motorhome from America
Closed Thread
Views: 11,321
# 1
1957scooby
Old 05-03-2007, 10:10 PM
MoneySaving Newbie

Default Buy and Import a Motorhome from America

I'm a newbie to this forum....I am selling my home via auction later this month and if it sells plan to move into a large American Motor Home (or RV as the yanks call them). Prices in England are high for anything large and decent. I have been looking on eBay and have considered buying from America (in or outside of an eBay auction) and then shipping to UK. I am looking for peoples opinions on this idea and how much I would be paying in all taxes once it lands and is registered in the UK (I am looking to spend upto £30K). Whats the biggest Motorhome I can legally drive for someone who passed his test pre-1997...I believe it's 7.5 ton but would like this confirming.
# 2
Nile
Old 05-03-2007, 10:16 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee

Hello 1957scooby

Welcome to the MSE site.

I'll move your thread to the 'Motoring & Public Transport' board.

Hi, Martin’s asked me to post this in these circumstances: I’ve asked Board Guides to move threads if they’ll receive a better response elsewhere(please see this rule) so this post/thread has been moved to another board, where it should get more replies. If you have any questions about this policy please email abuse@moneysavingexpert.com.

Regards

Nile