Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
Page 1
    • Canucklehead
    • By Canucklehead 15th Aug 11, 8:37 PM
    • 6,264 Posts
    • 3,371 Thanks
    Canucklehead
    • 15th Aug 11, 8:37 PM
    • 15th Aug 11, 8:37 PM
    Good evening: I've been recommending this site on MSE for a few years now...lots of brilliant advice on all things paving related.

HTH

Canucklehead
    Ask to see CIPHE (Chartered Institute of Plumbing & Heating Engineering)
  • ssingh1979
    • 15th Aug 11, 9:11 PM
    • 15th Aug 11, 9:11 PM
    Thanks for the link
    • evoke
    • By evoke 16th Aug 11, 11:06 AM
    • 1,259 Posts
    • 778 Thanks
    evoke
    • 16th Aug 11, 11:06 AM
    • 16th Aug 11, 11:06 AM
    Get block paving done.

I've looked at all the other options over the last three months and i've settled on block paving. I have a 100 square metre driveway and am paying around £7K which includes a proper soakaway and three brick walls in the front garden (using nice facing bricks). The paving bricks are Marshalls Driveline 50 bricks (most common ones used, apparentyl). It also includes a step to the front door and a couple of flowerbeds.

So, my cost works out at £7,000 / 100 = £70 per square metre.

The most important thing to check is the drainage - new regulations since 2008 mean that you may have to get planning permission for a driveway if the drainage is reduced from what it is now. You cannot drain into the rainwater drain and you cannot drain to the pavement.
  • ssingh1979
    • 16th Aug 11, 7:56 PM
    • 16th Aug 11, 7:56 PM