Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > does a freeview box need an outside aerial (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
does a freeview box need an outside aerial
Closed Thread
Views: 3,965
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
jenniferone
Old 03-01-2007, 3:34 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 171
Default does a freeview box need an outside aerial

Hi, I had my outside aerial taken down because I am on cable and now someone has bought me a freeview box for christmas. Is there anyway of setting it up without an outside aerial please. Any help would be appreciated

thanks
jennifer
Jennifer
jenniferone is offline
Report Post
# 2
MadCowMan
Old 03-01-2007, 3:43 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 334
Default

you can fit an aerial into your loft.
other than that I understand most 'set-top'aerials just dont have enough gain to pick up a clear freeview signal. Unless you live right next to a transmitter that is....
MadCowMan is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to MadCowMan For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
Avoriaz
Old 03-01-2007, 3:44 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 34,737
Default

It depends on how strong the signal is in your area. How far from the transmitter are you?

You might be lucky and get good reception with an indoor aerial but I think most locations need a decent rooftop or loft aerial.

Ask at a local TV shop. They should be able to advise you.
Avoriaz is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Avoriaz For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
pennylane99
Old 03-01-2007, 3:47 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,899
Default

was going to ditch Sky, but even my outside aerial wasnt good enough to pick up freeview in this area...so am stuck with Sky.
pennylane99 is offline
Report Post
# 5
rjm2k1
Old 03-01-2007, 3:56 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pennylane99
was going to ditch Sky, but even my outside aerial wasnt good enough to pick up freeview in this area...so am stuck with Sky.
You can always ditch your sky package, buy a cheap sat box and get a sky viewing card to pick up the free but encrypted channels. Lidl have these boxes occasionally for 30-40 quid and I think maplins sell them too. If sky don't want their box back, then it would be even cheaper. You don't get all of the terrestrial freeview channels tho.
rjm2k1 is offline
Report Post
# 6
Edinburghlass
Old 03-01-2007, 4:03 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 31,323
Default

I'm in a good signal area and operate two freeview boxes with just inside aerials at a fiver from Tesco.
Martin has asked me to tell you that I'm the Board Guide of the Telephones, Reclaim Bank Charges, Silver Savers and Scotland boards which means I'm a volunteer to help the boards run smoothly and I can move and merge threads there. Pease remember, board guides don't read every post. If you spot an illegal or inappropriate post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com. Board guides don't deal with this. Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.
Edinburghlass is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Edinburghlass For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
theCapt
Old 03-01-2007, 4:24 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 221
Default

In short you don't need an outside aerial but you'll get a better reception if you do.

Also using a bigger aerial means you get a better reception.

A case of bigger is better.
Scottish proverb - "Never drink whisky with water and never drink water without whisky"
theCapt is offline
Report Post
# 8
islandman
Old 03-01-2007, 4:31 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,360
Default

Thanks Edinburgh Lass,I've just had a call from my daughter who has today arrived at her new base (Forces) and without a mains aerial to connect to, has had to use her indoor aerial and seemingly is unable to access Freeview with it. I've checked her postcode and she is in a good area, so maybe you can remember the name of the aerial you bought from Tesco? was it one that had been recommeded or was it luck ?.
islandman is offline
Report Post
# 9
Edinburghlass
Old 03-01-2007, 4:38 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 31,323
Default

Can't remember the name of it sorry but I had bought one and I know it cost a fiver then last year some time Tesco did a student pack which included a scart lead, the same aerial and a four gang extention cable and I bought that pack when it was reduced to something ridiculous like 2.50.

Good thing about Tesco is your daughter can buy an aerial and if it doesn't work she can take it back and they will refund.

But.... when I used a freeview box at the caravan I never got good reception where vans next to me did but I had a blinking great tree nearby so it could be that all indoor aerials will be the same for your daughter.
Martin has asked me to tell you that I'm the Board Guide of the Telephones, Reclaim Bank Charges, Silver Savers and Scotland boards which means I'm a volunteer to help the boards run smoothly and I can move and merge threads there. Pease remember, board guides don't read every post. If you spot an illegal or inappropriate post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com. Board guides don't deal with this. Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.
Edinburghlass is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Edinburghlass For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
Fruitcake
Old 03-01-2007, 5:03 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Zumerzet Riviera, Wurzelsetshire
Posts: 29,202
Default

Apparently you still get all the Freeview channels using your Skybox, even after you have unsubscribed. This was posted by another MSEer several months ago but I have not tried it myself. Perhaps someone else can confirm this.
I can't get Sky at the moment for some unknown reason........here in Ohio. Adverts every 7 minutes....can I go home now please?

Fruitcake

You Only Listen To Me When I'm Wrong
Fruitcake is online now
Report Post
# 11
moonrakerz
Old 03-01-2007, 6:03 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 8,511
Default

There is so much confusion and misunderstanding about freeview ................

1. To pick up any terrestrial television you need an aerial.

2. The sort/size of aerial depends on the signal strength in your area. Can vary from a piece of "wet string" to a 100 high gain antenna.

3. At the moment you need a much better aerial for digital than you do for analogue. When analogue is switched off, the signal for digital will be increased. So the the aerial that you have now - which isn't good enough now - might be good enough then. (you couldn't make this up, could you ?)

4. Even though the web site says you are in a "good" area, that doesn't mean that YOU will get a good picture. All it needs it a building, a small hill or even some trees to be in the way .................

5. Talk to a local TV aerial installer - he will know the area.
moonrakerz is offline
Report Post
# 12
irisrose
Old 04-01-2007, 11:52 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,217
Default

I got in laws a freeview box for christmas can get the programmes but they only appear as black and white any ideas
irisrose is offline
Report Post
# 13
Syman
Old 04-01-2007, 12:03 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The suburbs of our Great Capital
Posts: 1,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irisrose
I got in laws a freeview box for christmas can get the programmes but they only appear as black and white any ideas
sounds like a dodgy scart lead.
Syman is offline
Report Post
# 14
morganb
Old 04-01-2007, 12:21 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,743
Default

We got our freeview box working using the following indoor aerial :

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/5343243.htm

It needs a power socket to work and the reception is good

I don't think we are in a particularly strong signal area so it's worth giving it a try and taking it back to Argos within 16 days if you have no joy
That's Numberwang!
morganb is offline
Report Post
# 15
Jet
Old 04-01-2007, 12:23 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,470
Default

I'm in an area where (apparently) we can't get freeview. I've had a freeview box for over a year now. Very occassionally, the signal is a bit weak and the picture will be a bit hit and miss but 99% of the time, it's fine.

I do have a good outside aerial though.
The fragrance always stays in the hand that gives the rose.
Jet is offline
Report Post
# 16
cookie_monster
Old 04-01-2007, 1:08 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 120
Default

i bought one of those USB freeview things for the pc and i am using one of those simple wire aerials shaped ina circle at my window. i tried using the roof aerial and it infact did not find as many channels. so in essence the small piece of wire is betetr than the roof aerial :O

personally i think its just luck of the draw my mum+dad have bought many aerials all with fancy amplifiers and what not and none seem to work that well
cookie_monster is offline
Report Post
# 17
irisrose
Old 04-01-2007, 1:46 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,217
Default

I have tried my in laws freeview box on my TV with same scart lead it works ok here so it must be the ariel at the in laws
irisrose is offline
Report Post
# 18
Little John
Old 04-01-2007, 2:00 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bolton
Posts: 3,994
Default

We live under winterhill transmitter pretty much and the outdoor aerial was worse than the portable ones, we did buy amplifiers for them and it made the pictures far better.
Little John is offline
Report Post
# 19
bigbrummygirl
Old 04-01-2007, 2:17 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbrummygirl
Default

i have freeview and have a perfect picture using an indoor arial from the pound shop.
reach for the moon because even if you miss you will still be a star!
bigbrummygirl is offline
Report Post
# 20
dickibobboy
Old 04-01-2007, 2:51 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 882
Default

me too. i am in a strong area and can get all channels good quality most of the time with a poundland arial.

Lets put this right with sky

If you cancell sky they wont ask for your box back. So there is no need to go out and buy a new satellite box and a card(if you did the card would not work and it is only used for channel 4/5 and sky3)

You will get all the channels listed on www.freesatfromsky.com you cannot get all the channels from freeview on freesat which includes E4 there are not many you cant get but there is alot more choice on freesat and you dont have to pay anything for it.

does that help?
Things that are free in life are great, well most of the time
dickibobboy is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to dickibobboy For This Useful Post: Show me >>
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:25 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 01 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • ALT-JTHIS IS ALL YOURS
  • SAM SMITHIN THE LONELY HOUR (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.