Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > In my home (includes DIY) MoneySaving > Sky multi room without the subscription (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Sky multi room without the subscription
Closed Thread
Views: 4,206
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
paulra
Old 25-11-2006, 4:29 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Cool Sky multi room without the subscription

I've eventually figured how to get sky multi room without paying for a sky subscription. It involve buying a mini dish quad lnb (you only need a twin but couldn't find one). I bought one from www.thedigiboxshop.com for 34.99 - ordered from website straightforward. This replace the singhle lnb on the dish.

The lnb is the thing that the signals are bounced off the dish into that the wire is connected to and has a white plastic cap on it.

You then buy another digibox and run a wire from the dish to it. A free sat card is available from Sky for 20, I think although haven't bought one yet to get some of the free channels.

Paul
paulra is offline
Report Post
# 2
handyman.
Old 25-11-2006, 4:34 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 303
Default

or just put a £20 freeview box on the second tv??
handyman. is offline
Report Post
# 3
paullwill8
Old 25-11-2006, 4:47 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman.
or just put a 20 freeview box on the second tv??
Not all area's recieve freeview, and satelight is better quality.
What goes around - comes around
give lots and you will always recieve lots
paullwill8 is offline
Report Post
# 4
lowbrim
Old 25-11-2006, 4:58 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 448
Default

Could have saved yourself some money by buying quad lnb on Ebay go for around £11 + postage. I presume you realise you dont need a card to get a lot of the free channels and you can get digiboxes on Ebay older ones from around £25 including postage which are just as good as the newer ones if a little bulkier.
lowbrim is offline
Report Post
# 5
sniperpenguin
Old 25-11-2006, 5:02 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 278
Default

Am I right in thinking though that you wont get your sky package on the second box? :confused:
"Getting Married" - The act of betting half of everything you own on the fact you will love someone forever
sniperpenguin is offline
Report Post
# 6
handyman.
Old 25-11-2006, 5:31 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 303
Default

yes, hence me saying to just get a freeview box
handyman. is offline
Report Post
# 7
chrisw
Old 25-11-2006, 9:14 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperpenguin
Am I right in thinking though that you wont get your sky package on the second box? :confused:
You get the usual pay channels such as Discovery but not the premium movie and sports channels.
chrisw is offline
Report Post
# 8
lil_me
Old 25-11-2006, 10:59 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Using phone so replying less x
Posts: 13,028
Send a message via MSN to lil_me
Default

The last time I got my Sky dish fixed the nice man put me a Quad LNB in instead of the normal one (all done free of course as we threatened to cancel again when the LNB went off for the second time). Haven't got round to wiring the second box in yet which I got off my sister for nothing.
One day I might be more organised...........:confused:
lil_me is offline
Report Post
# 9
oldandhappy
Old 26-11-2006, 8:20 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bexhill on Sea
Posts: 602
Default

the wireless video sender we purchased last week works a treat for transfering Sky to another room...but of course you have to watch the same prog on both TV's ............
oldandhappy is offline
Report Post
# 10
sue_balu
Old 26-11-2006, 9:22 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperpenguin
Am I right in thinking though that you wont get your sky package on the second box?

Quote "You get the usual pay channels such as Discovery but not the premium movie and sports channels."


I dont think you will get anything more than the basic free to air channels on your second box - unless you pay the 10 multi room subs - you would also need a card to unscramble Ch 4 and Ch5 too - if you need to recieve those digitally (rather than through your rooftop aerial that is)
sue_balu is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 8:14 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 19 November 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.