Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > Can i watch Sky in another room (without getting ... (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Can i watch Sky in another room (without getting multi room or putting a new lead in)
Closed Thread
Views: 91,857
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
mum_to_izzy
Old 10-11-2008, 8:21 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 114
Default Can i watch Sky in another room (without getting multi room or putting a new lead in)

Is there a gadget I could buy that can do this, I would like sky upstairs, but can't have any leads drilled through the walls?
mum_to_izzy is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to mum_to_izzy For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 2
Browntoa
Old 10-11-2008, 8:25 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 27,369
Default

this will

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5345014/Trail/searchtext%3EVIDEO+SENDER.htm
or

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/5344273.htm
I'm the Board Guide of the Referrers ,Telephones, Pensions and Discount Code boards which means I'm a volunteer to help them run smoothly and I can move and merge posts there. However, please remember, board guides don't read every post. If you spot an inappropriate or illegal post please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.


Browntoa is offline
Report Post
# 3
buyitall
Old 10-11-2008, 9:56 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,077
Default

There is a video sender at Aldi this week for 19.99. Be aware that you have to watch the same channel in both rooms with these devices.
buyitall is offline
Report Post
# 4
moneysaver
Old 11-11-2008, 12:18 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 625
Default

I have this one, http://www.amazon.co.uk/Thomson-VS68...Z5R9PA7YB1EBYG

Works a treat & controls Sky from your bedroom.


Moneysaver
moneysaver is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to moneysaver For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
Jo4
Old 11-11-2008, 1:32 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,001
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by moneysaver View Post
I have this one, http://www.amazon.co.uk/Thomson-VS68...Z5R9PA7YB1EBYG

Works a treat & controls Sky from your bedroom.


Moneysaver
Am I right that you can actually watch any Sky chanel in your bedroom rather than what ever one is on your main tv? :confused:
Extra Cash in 2014:-
Door to door survey 35 Love2Shop vouchers! Panelbase 4.70
Shop & scan 70 Love2Shop vouchers! Swag bucks 45 Amazon vouchers!
Topcashback 144.57 payable! YouGov 1675 Points
Jo4 is offline
Report Post
# 6
moneysaver
Old 11-11-2008, 1:55 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo4 View Post
Am I right that you can actually watch any Sky chanel in your bedroom rather than what ever one is on your main tv? :confused:
You transmit whatever channel you are watching on Sky through to your Tv in a bedroom. You cannot watch a different channel on each Tv.

It is really used for going to bed & watching Sky/freeview as long as nobody is wanting to watch Sky/freeview on the main Tv. I hope I have made it clear enough.


Moneysaver
moneysaver is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to moneysaver For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
Jo4
Old 11-11-2008, 2:03 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,001
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by moneysaver View Post
You transmit whatever channel you are watching on Sky through to your Tv in a bedroom. You cannot watch a different channel on each Tv.

It is really used for going to bed & watching Sky/freeview as long as nobody is wanting to watch Sky/freeview on the main Tv. I hope I have made it clear enough.


Moneysaver
Thanks! Am I right that you can watch what ever channel you want in the bedroom providing no one is watching Sky on the main tv?
Extra Cash in 2014:-
Door to door survey 35 Love2Shop vouchers! Panelbase 4.70
Shop & scan 70 Love2Shop vouchers! Swag bucks 45 Amazon vouchers!
Topcashback 144.57 payable! YouGov 1675 Points
Jo4 is offline
Report Post
# 8
moneysaver
Old 11-11-2008, 2:05 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo4 View Post
Thanks! Am I right that you can watch what ever channel you want in the bedroom providing no one is watching Sky on the main tv?
Yes that is correct.
moneysaver is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to moneysaver For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 9
Jo4
Old 11-11-2008, 2:14 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,001
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by moneysaver View Post
Yes that is correct.
Sorry for hi-jacking this thread but it has got me thinking. The box from Amazon is approximately 19 and I was offered a Sky+ box for 49, 30 more. Could I keep my ordinary Sky box, put it in the bedroom, and get the new Sky+ box and put it in the main room? If yes, would I need another Sky card or cables? :confused:
Extra Cash in 2014:-
Door to door survey 35 Love2Shop vouchers! Panelbase 4.70
Shop & scan 70 Love2Shop vouchers! Swag bucks 45 Amazon vouchers!
Topcashback 144.57 payable! YouGov 1675 Points
Jo4 is offline
Report Post
# 10
moneysaver
Old 11-11-2008, 2:25 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo4 View Post
Sorry for hi-jacking this thread but it has got me thinking. The box from Amazon is approximately 19 and I was offered a Sky+ box for 49, 30 more. Could I keep my ordinary Sky box, put it in the bedroom, and get the new Sky+ box and put it in the main room? If yes, would I need another Sky card or cables? :confused:
Yes you could do that, and you would need cables & a card. This would mean you would have Sky multiroom( 10 extra per month).

Is the Sky+ box from Sky itself? I am not sure but if it is I think you would use your current card & would need a second card for the other box.( Sky would charge you multiroom for this)

Someone on here might have a way around this method.

Moneysaver
moneysaver is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to moneysaver For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 11
DatabaseError
Old 11-11-2008, 2:25 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: halifax, uk
Posts: 4,020
Default

you would need a quad LNB, more cables, a card and a sub to sky to use the pvr features
Utinam logica falsa tuam philosophiam totam suffodiant.
DatabaseError is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DatabaseError For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 12
Jo4
Old 11-11-2008, 3:25 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyhague View Post
you would need a quad LNB, more cables, a card and a sub to sky to use the pvr features
Any idea how much this would cost? What is pvr features? :confused:
Extra Cash in 2014:-
Door to door survey 35 Love2Shop vouchers! Panelbase 4.70
Shop & scan 70 Love2Shop vouchers! Swag bucks 45 Amazon vouchers!
Topcashback 144.57 payable! YouGov 1675 Points
Jo4 is offline
Report Post
# 13
Inactive
Old 11-11-2008, 3:50 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Doubly Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14,134
Default

Quad LNB ...about a tenner from eBay, cable, clips and " f " connections about the same, the another tenner a month to Sky.

PVR = Recording mode.
Inactive is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Inactive For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 14
D.K.
Old 11-11-2008, 4:48 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 595
Default

Gadget? Just get a Velux for upstairs.
D.K. is offline
Report Post
# 15
superjaggybunnet
Old 11-11-2008, 6:55 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,123
Default

I got a Sender from Tesco.

Works a treat and you can also use the remote to change channels.
I'd rather be playing Squash!
superjaggybunnet is offline
Report Post
# 16
jamieukonline
Old 17-11-2008, 2:43 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 111
Default

another hi-jack i'm afraid.

Have just but the medion one from aldi, seems to do the job perfectly... with the exception of the remote control.

I have read that some set top boxes use a bandwidth that a standard IR extender cannot deal with but I have not been able to find any info as to whether this applies to Tiscali TV set top boxes.

Has anyone managed to get it to work with Tiscali TV?
jamieukonline is offline
Report Post
# 17
Blackpool_Saver
Old 17-11-2008, 2:51 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D.K. View Post
Gadget? Just get a Velux for upstairs.
A velux window you mean??? stare up at the stars lol

I have a set of eyes that sit on the tellies and change channels via a remote , now don't ask me how it all works cos I got a little man out to do mine .....:rolleyes:
Blackpool_Saver is female
Blackpool_Saver is offline
Report Post
# 18
mysuni
Old 18-11-2008, 9:01 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 229
Default

can anyone tell me which scart socket they connected the sender to. I have tried all of them and i cannot pick up a signal upstairs. I know that it works as my brother bought it for me and tested it at his house before he sent it to me. also should the sender ir dangly bits be in front of the sky+ box or the side? sorry the instructions are non-existent. Also does it matter that the upstairs tv is not connected to an aerial?

many thanks.
mysuni is offline
Report Post
# 19
supermonkey
Old 19-11-2008, 2:14 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 686
Default

mysuni - you dont need an aerail
supermonkey is offline
Report Post
# 20
henster
Old 26-11-2008, 7:46 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Sorry to hijack this again (and for being dense) but would a device like this work with virgin tv or is it just sky?

Thanks!
henster is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 27 August 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 88
  • SAM SMITHIN THE LONELY HOUR (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.