Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > Sky Magic Eye and Isolated aerial socket? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Sky Magic Eye and Isolated aerial socket?
Closed Thread
Views: 5,005
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
humfer
Old 03-11-2008, 1:05 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,723
Default Sky Magic Eye and Isolated aerial socket?

Have just connected a 2nd tv to my sky box from another room by joining the internal coax aerial cable within the house. Basically a cable comes out of my RF2 on my Sky box into the aerial socket on the wall, and then for the 2nd tv I have a lead coming out of the aerial socket in that room into the back of the TV. The 2 leads have been joined together in the loft. All works fine and I get what ever is on the sky box in the 2nd tv.

However have just added a magic eye to the 2nd box, and it doesn't seem to be working. Have just noticed a paragraph under the 'problems' sections of the instructions and it states "If your second TV is connected to an isolated aerial socket then this will have to be replaced with a non-isolated socket". Sorry about my ignorance, but is this what the wall sockets are - isolated? And therefore will not work with the magic eye?
humfer is offline
Report Post
# 2
shellnapier
Old 03-11-2008, 1:10 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 497
Default

hey hey hey i hae this exactly in my house!!!!! so i mite be able to help, however my camble just cums out of the rf2 and out ym living room windom upsiatrs then starigght in ym bedroom window into bag of tv, not through any ariel sockets, and i have my magic eye cntedcted... however i had to go into sky setting on the box and change it to rf2 on , or somthing liek that, it tells us ein teh sky box insturctions.. but i dont know if that helps
"Lifes a climb - but the view up in fantastic"
Gina Shoe Challange - 150 14 days - day1 3.01
shellnapier is offline
Report Post
# 3
Inactive
Old 03-11-2008, 1:30 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Doubly Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14,134
Default

Magic Eye's require a good clean connection for them to function, too many joins are bad news.

You would be better off running a co-ax lead directly from your Sky receiver to your second TV.
Inactive is offline
Report Post
# 4
TighterThanTwoCoatsOfPain
Old 03-11-2008, 8:53 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 814
Default

have you turned the power to the magic eye on? its not just plug and play..

cant remember the exact buttons, but a quick google will sort you out.
TighterThanTwoCoatsOfPain is offline
Report Post
# 5
Mogz
Old 09-01-2011, 7:25 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default

OK massive necropost I know but I have the same problem > new build house.

I have the sky image sending around to two other sockets with good quality, and the amplifier in the loft is Sky DigiEYE compatible, but the TVLink isn't getting any voltage.

If I plug a TVLink receiver in directly to the sky box (RF Output 2) it works, so its not the box configuration.

I've just taken one of the UHF Aerial sockets off and there looks to be a capacitor on there which effectively isolates the port from passing through any significant current or voltage, most likely a form of lightning strike surge protection.

Checkout this link! It appears I will need non-isolated wall plates.

http://www.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!/tech/wallplates.htm

http://www.satcuredotcodotuk/accs/page15.htm

please replace "dot" with "."

There are three possible problems

1) the sockets
2) the connections
3) the amplifier is not passing through the voltage in the loft.

with regards to number 2, i think it's an unlikely problem because I used proper plugs all around, (all metal) with screw connectors for the core connection, which is almost as good as a soldered connection.

with regards to number 3, I've triple checked and it _should_ work.

I can get my meter out and see if the 9v DC voltage is getting past the capacitor in the socket, but it means getting the tv out and messing up the lounge AGAIN.

Since I've found that link, it clearly describes that these sockets are blocking the voltage so I'll just order some non-isolated sockets and report back with the results once they are changed.

Just really reporting here for future reference of other users, as this will become more and more common with new build housing popping up everywhere

Last edited by Mogz; 09-01-2011 at 7:27 AM. Reason: url blocked
Mogz is offline
Report Post
# 6
westy85
Old 12-01-2011, 10:31 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Swindon
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to westy85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mogz View Post
OK massive necropost I know but I have the same problem > new build house.

I have the sky image sending around to two other sockets with good quality, and the amplifier in the loft is Sky DigiEYE compatible, but the TVLink isn't getting any voltage.

If I plug a TVLink receiver in directly to the sky box (RF Output 2) it works, so its not the box configuration.

I've just taken one of the UHF Aerial sockets off and there looks to be a capacitor on there which effectively isolates the port from passing through any significant current or voltage, most likely a form of lightning strike surge protection.

Checkout this link! It appears I will need non-isolated wall plates.

http://www.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!/tech/wallplates.htm

http://www.satcuredotcodotuk/accs/page15.htm

please replace "dot" with "."

There are three possible problems

1) the sockets
2) the connections
3) the amplifier is not passing through the voltage in the loft.

with regards to number 2, i think it's an unlikely problem because I used proper plugs all around, (all metal) with screw connectors for the core connection, which is almost as good as a soldered connection.

with regards to number 3, I've triple checked and it _should_ work.

I can get my meter out and see if the 9v DC voltage is getting past the capacitor in the socket, but it means getting the tv out and messing up the lounge AGAIN.

Since I've found that link, it clearly describes that these sockets are blocking the voltage so I'll just order some non-isolated sockets and report back with the results once they are changed.

Just really reporting here for future reference of other users, as this will become more and more common with new build housing popping up everywhere
I had the same problem in a new build.

I had the coax going from Sky box into wallplate in lounge, up into the loft then out of a wall plate in the bedroom. Picture worked ok but not the magic eye.

I tested the bedroom wallplate with a voltmeter and the wallplate that the builder had put in didn't carry a current which is why the magic eye didn't work. I bought a new wallplate, wired it up and all works ok now.

Mine only cost 4 so well worth the money.
Homeowner with 1st mortgage sine Dec 09
Competition wins to date - Jan 11 Xbox 360 250GB, Jun 11 Xbox 360 4GB
Golf handicap: 28 27 26
westy85 is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:52 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 27 August 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 88
  • SAM SMITHIN THE LONELY HOUR (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.