Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > New Icon's appeared on 'Connect to' ... (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
New Icon's appeared on 'Connect to' ...
Closed Thread
Views: 985
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 1:56 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default New Icon's appeared on 'Connect to' ...

Wireless Network Detection.

Does it mean I'm nearly on BB? Or nearly on a downer?

What is it? It looks like a dragon, or a Lowry woman in a red dress
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 2
Number 6
Old 03-11-2005, 9:00 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Your probably picking up someones elses network...

R
Number 6 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Number 6 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 4:40 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Number 6
Your probably picking up someones elses network...

R
Like a neighbour's for example?
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 4
Mr Skint
Old 03-11-2005, 5:01 PM
PPR
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,023
Default

Is this a joke sofa......

Or are you picking up a connection for real...
Mr Skint is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Skint For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 6:44 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Skint
Is this a joke sofa......

Or are you picking up a connection for real...
No it's not a joke Mr S

But I'm not picking up a connection as far as I know, but I've picked up a new icon? :confused:
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 6
Mr Skint
Old 03-11-2005, 6:46 PM
PPR
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,023
Default

Is it like two monitors with a red cross,, or are they
talking to each other so to say
Mr Skint is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Skint For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
Toxteth_OGrady
Old 03-11-2005, 6:52 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,859
Default

Install NetStumblerand run a scan. It will give you way more info on what your wireless is detecting.



TOG
604!!


Wise men learn more from fools than fools from the wise
Toxteth_OGrady is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Toxteth_OGrady For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 6:54 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Skint
Is it like two monitors with a red cross,, or are they
talking to each other so to say
It's like a red cross but no monitors.

If I click the icon it says:

Wireless Network Connection

The following wireless network(s) are available. To access a wireless network, select it from the list, and then click Connect.

Available wireless networks:

(There's an empty box below it)

Then below the box it says:

If you are having difficulty connecting to a network, click Advanced.

When I do that it's showing Use Windows to configure my wireless network settings. (The box is ticked btw but the Configure is 'greyed' out) All I can click to go any further is Refresh :confused:
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 9
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 6:56 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxteth_OGrady
Install NetStumblerand run a scan. It will give you way more info on what your wireless is detecting.



TOG
Our posts crossed. Thanks Toxteth
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 10
Toxteth_OGrady
Old 03-11-2005, 7:02 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,859
Default

Is it like anything in this article?



TOG
604!!


Wise men learn more from fools than fools from the wise
Toxteth_OGrady is offline
Report Post
# 11
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 7:07 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

No, nothing like that Toxteth :confused:
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 12
Toxteth_OGrady
Old 03-11-2005, 7:11 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,859
Default

What make is your wireless card? Might be an OEM specific icon.



TOG
604!!


Wise men learn more from fools than fools from the wise
Toxteth_OGrady is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Toxteth_OGrady For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 13
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 7:13 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxteth_OGrady
What make is your wireless card? Might be an OEM specific icon.



TOG
You're getting all techie on me

Where do I look to find out?
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 14
Toxteth_OGrady
Old 03-11-2005, 7:23 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,859
Default

What is it you are trying to connect with? Is it a laptop or desktop PC?

What are you trying to connect to? Is it a wireless modem router?



TOG
604!!


Wise men learn more from fools than fools from the wise
Toxteth_OGrady is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Toxteth_OGrady For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 15
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 7:43 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxteth_OGrady
What is it you are trying to connect with? Is it a laptop or desktop PC?

What are you trying to connect to? Is it a wireless modem router?



TOG
Not trying to connect to anything as such Toxteth. I just wondered where the icon came from and why :confused:

It's a laptop btw ...
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 16
Mr Skint
Old 03-11-2005, 7:44 PM
PPR
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sofa_Sogood
You're getting all techie on me

Where do I look to find out?
Have you a coffee cup holder that can play the occasional CD ?



I'll get me coat.....
Mr Skint is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Skint For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 17
Sofa_Sogood
Old 03-11-2005, 7:47 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Skint
Have you a coffee cup holder that can play the occasional CD ?

I'll get me coat.....
Ohhh, I've got one of those on the desktop

It's on that coat hanger over there --->
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
# 18
Toxteth_OGrady
Old 03-11-2005, 7:53 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,859
Default

My guess is that you have a wifi capable laptop, you've (accidentally) turned on the function key that enables the wireless service and hence the appearance of an OEM icon in 'Connect To' When you click on it the Available Wireless Networks list is blank because there's nothing in your house (or any of your neighbours') for it to connect to.



TOG
604!!


Wise men learn more from fools than fools from the wise
Toxteth_OGrady is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Toxteth_OGrady For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 19
Sofa_Sogood
Old 04-11-2005, 10:53 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxteth_OGrady
My guess is that you have a wifi capable laptop, you've (accidentally) turned on the function key that enables the wireless service and hence the appearance of an OEM icon in 'Connect To' When you click on it the Available Wireless Networks list is blank because there's nothing in your house (or any of your neighbours') for it to connect to.



TOG
Thanks Toxteth and apologies for the delay in replying.

The laptop is wifi capable and I tend to play about with options that are maybe best left alone .... but because I'm unable to get BB, but my immediate neighbour can, I wondered if I was being 'spied' on ... if that makes sense?

Seemed strange for an icon to suddenly appear, but thanks for all your help

(and Mr Skints )

Time to change our wiring it seems. No BB otherwise ...

And well done on 1,000 posts ... all helping people

Last edited by Sofa_Sogood; 04-11-2005 at 10:59 PM. Reason: To say "Congratulations" :)
Sofa_Sogood is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 17 December 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile