Voluntary car service question

Does anyone know how Voluntary Car Service drivers (for Hospital Visits) stand as regards tax etc.. I have been told by several car drivers that you do not need to declare any money earned as they are only paid 'mileage' money and no other expenses..

I am considering this if I have to take early retirement but want to know where I would stand as regards JSA also as I could make myself available for job interviews etc , by just volunteering part-time....
#6 of the SKI-ers Club :j

"All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke

Comments

• donnalove
    donnalove Posts: 574 Forumite
    hi i can answer this honestly as i am a voluntry driver for nhs mental services.

basically it is the same as buissness millage you can do the first 10,000 miles at 40p then the rate reduces to 25p for anything after, or you can be paid a lower rate ie 35p then you could do 14000 miles or 32p you could do 20000 miles different hospitals have different rates but we are paid the standard 40p and 25p i will explain the best i can.

so if you were to do 15,000 miles at 40p for tax purposes the first 10,000 miles you would not pay tax. the 5,000 miles tax man says you should be paid 25p but you are being paid 40p so the difference 40-25=15p would be taxable, the tax on 15p is 3p
    so tax would be 3x5000=150 you would have to pay £150 tax, on the extra 5000 miles.
    (the taxman classes the extra 15p as profit so therefore becomes taxable)

or you could do the 15000 doing 10000 at 40p then 5000 at 25p if you dont want the hassle.

another option so you can do 15000 and still claim the 40p for the whole 15000(or more as we can do) is to base it on your whole years driving, this involves keeping recipts for anything to do with your car eg servicing, parts,mot,insurance etc then you work it out on proportion of vol driving to personal driving

example:

i drive 15000 miles for voluntry and 5000 of my own