MoneySaving Poll: Would you vote for a £14.66 minimum wage?

Poll started 20 May 2014

In Switzerland this week, a referendum to introduce a 22 Swiss franc (c.£14.66) per hour minimum wage, proposed by trade unions to promote “fair salaries for workers in the lowest-paid professions”, was rejected by the population on grounds that it was state intervention and may hurt the economy. If you were setting the minimum wage in the UK, what would you set it at?

Did you vote? Are you surprised at the results so far? Have your say below. To see the results from last time, click this

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply. If you aren’t sure how it all works, read our New to Forum? Intro Guide.

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments

• TurnUpForTheBooks_2
    TurnUpForTheBooks_2 Posts: 436 Forumite
    edited 20 May 2014 at 8:30AM
    MSE_Wendy wrote: »
    Hi all

Just to let you know I've made the poll discussion live so feel free to head over there to discuss the issue.

Wendy
    Ah thanks Wendy!

As I was saying in another place then ...

The UK minimum wage, increasingly poor working conditions, deliberate government ploy to make it harder to bring cases against employers plus the widespread use of zero hours contracts have all created a stupid dumbed down fearful disrespected labour market in the UK which means we are now like third world savages compared to some other so called western countries.

So called strivers are expected to eat dirt and get up and ask for more whilst success is measured according to the cloth of City fraudsters running banks and insurance companies or legal firms (they're all in it together of course - but we're not).

Our unions are not worth a light any more - the last union leader worth a light was lost a few months ago. He was a bit too "darn to bleedin' urf" for most, but his heart was in the right place.