Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    • By Tilly MFW in 6 YRS 5th Nov 11, 9:12 PM
    • 7,338Posts
    • 82,097Thanks
    Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    Countdown to Freedom
    • #1
    • 5th Nov 11, 9:12 PM
    Countdown to Freedom 5th Nov 11 at 9:12 PM
    A new diary as we enter the last two months of 2011. I have been lurking for almost a year and have found so many of you inspirational, particularly Billy, Michelle, Radish, and Museum Worker.

    A bit of background I am married to a great man, two kids who are growing up too quickly, two cats and a dog! Never a dull moment in our household as you can imagine.

    I had my LB moment 12 months ago and started to work on my husband to bring him round as I thought we both needed to be on board to tackle this project. I have just asked him when he had his LB moment and he said 'when you told me I had' however he swiftly followed this up with 'when I realised we would never reduce the mortgage whilst battling with 'the large Spanish bank'!

    To set the stage for where we are and where we are aiming for:
    Current mortgage £312000 and I wince as I type the number, with the outstanding mortgage due to finish in 10 years. Aim is to clear the mortgage in 6 years. We are fortunate that we are both employed on good salaries however in this day and age who knows how long that will last.
    Onwards and upwards, my next post will be to build a picture of how I/we have put into practice all the things learnt from you great people.

    Thanks for reading and I hope some day I can inspire others the way some of you have inspired me/us.
Page 488
    • Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    • By Tilly MFW in 6 YRS 6th Feb 16, 9:36 PM
    • 7,338 Posts
    • 82,097 Thanks
    Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    Have a lovely trip - is it just you or are any of the family going with you?


    xx
    Originally posted by greent
    Just me

    Air smells gorgeous, clear sky and I've been star spotting. Glass of rose by my side and I've cooked salmon and had a salad.

    Church tomorrow, dinner out tomorrow night. Long walk on the beach Monday morning.

    I'm home

    Tilly x x
    2004 £387k 29 years - MF March 2033 2011 £309k 10 years - MF March 2021.
    Goal: 28/08/15
    House 1:value £630k, outstanding Mort £10
    House 2: value Euro 400k, owned outright
    • Lexi-lu
    • By Lexi-lu 7th Feb 16, 4:30 PM
    • 59 Posts
    • 269 Thanks
    Lexi-lu
    Hello Tilly

    That sounds perfect! Enjoy your trip.

    LL
    Mortgage Balance £82,001
    MFiT-T4 #43
    • Secret Saving Squirrel
    • By Secret Saving Squirrel 7th Feb 16, 4:39 PM
    • 3,335 Posts
    • 31,060 Thanks
    Secret Saving Squirrel
    Sounds heavenly Tilly. Have a lovely break x
    Paid off mortgage nine years early in 2013. Now picking and choosing our work to fit in with the rest of our lives!
    Still thrifty though, after all these years
    • Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    • By Tilly MFW in 6 YRS 8th Feb 16, 3:18 PM
    • 7,338 Posts
    • 82,097 Thanks
    Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    Afternoon, warm but cloudy day. Gas bottle sorted out and being delivered on Thursday.

    Looks like we won't need to knock the house down and rebuild, a renovation and extension will be ok. Underfloor heating, new wood burning stove, three ensuites with one shower room/guest loo, new kitchen.

    I can reuse some of the kitchen cupboards in utility area but they will be painted, currently dark brown - real wood.

    We will end up with three bedrooms/en suites, guest shower/loo, a TV/study/bed settee room, sitting/dining room, kitchen, plus garage/pump room.

    Kitchen will be smaller but as I think it's far too big right now, that's fine.

    Workmen pitched up today not tomorrow and have started work on the roof. There is a problem with solar hot water and timer.

    Guys coming this week to quote for fencing job. It's a four acre plot and already fenced but on one side the cement uprights have come adrift a little and we have a slight 'leaning tower of Pisa' thing going on. I'm getting two quotes and the work will be 'famous last words' complete by end of March. As they will need to bring a digger, the whole lot will be fixed in the same day.

    New water softener is fitted

    Kitchen will have windows on two sides and u shaped, with space for a small table. Sitting room will be pushed out to incorporate the hall. The fireplace is offset at the moment and increasing the size will mean we will have room for a big dining table from the UK, and the fireplace will be a feature in the sitting end of the room. No TV - that will be in the study type room.

    All internal walls will be changing apart from the main load bearing one. The bedrooms all have built in wardrobes which are ridiculously huge - they are coming out. As the bedrooms are all fairly large, reducing them will help to make them cozy, give room for shower rooms, and mean they will all face the garden.

    Patio area will be extended with a pergola as well as the current over hang. New patio to be built with better/thicker slabs.

    Bread/pizza oven to be built with a work surface and BBQ. Current BBQ/shower/loo area will become a storage room for the veggie garden.

    I'm meeting an architect to discuss the internal changes and he will handle the approvals.

    We can't move until I'm 55 and take my pension but we can get all the plans complete and approval process started in the meantime. If things go according to plan, I may be project managing it.

    I'm thinking hard about the kitchen and shower rooms - easy access to fix things when they break, rather than rip tiles off for example. Plus we don't want fancy suites - if something fails we want to be able to pop down to the DIY shop and buy a 'bit' to fix it, not call in plumbers.

    Right, that's all for now. I need to make coffee for the boys on the roof.

    Tilly x x
    Last edited by Tilly MFW in 6 YRS; Yesterday at 3:21 PM.
    2004 £387k 29 years - MF March 2033 2011 £309k 10 years - MF March 2021.
    Goal: 28/08/15
    House 1:value £630k, outstanding Mort £10
    House 2: value Euro 400k, owned outright
    • brizzledfw
    • By brizzledfw 8th Feb 16, 3:37 PM
    • 5,271 Posts
    • 24,818 Thanks
    brizzledfw
    Wow Tilly - all sounds great.

    And love the idea of a summer kitchen/oven thingy

    Xx
    MFiT-T4 Member No. 96 - 2021 is my MF goal
    Save £12k in 2016 Member No.12 £482/£12k
    Declutter 100 items before 31.01.16 105/100 NSDs 2/Feb
    Declutter 100 items before 29.02.16 5/100 ** Sales Target 29.02.16 £18.99/£250
    You are spending money you don't have! Try covering your spends before you spend what you have yet to earn- thx PAP
    • Watty1
    • By Watty1 8th Feb 16, 4:53 PM
    • 1,977 Posts
    • 14,270 Thanks
    Watty1
    Loving the sound of the plans
    Mortgage at start of diary Sept 2013: £132,995 Aug 2015 £0

    Jan 2016 Savings target: £50,000 Total saved £3571
    • Polly Wolly Doodle
    • By Polly Wolly Doodle 8th Feb 16, 5:41 PM
    • 988 Posts
    • 3,653 Thanks
    Polly Wolly Doodle
    Sounds wonderful Tilly, what about a maid's room, you'll need one for all the cleaning!! I'm just jealous xxx
    Mortgage £209,406.31 + £295 redemption admin charge.
    OPs this month: £40
    Car Fund £1,856.53
    • Karmacat
    • By Karmacat 8th Feb 16, 6:35 PM
    • 24,631 Posts
    • 121,513 Thanks
    Karmacat
    It sounds so wonderful, Tilly! All that space (and those oranges ) and the idea of being able to fix minor things yourselves is brilliant. Definitely agree with an outside processing area - thats what my relatives in Zimbabwe did, and my smallholder friend in eastern England.
    Retiring 26.8.2016
    £5k from online work by then, £83,50 per week.
    • muddywhitechicken
    • By muddywhitechicken 8th Feb 16, 7:23 PM
    • 3,225 Posts
    • 29,555 Thanks
    muddywhitechicken
    Wow - it is going to be glorious Tilly

    MWCx
    Mortgage at highest (April 2008): ~£195,000
    Agreed redemption date: April 2028
    Outstanding balance: <£65,000
    Current total overpayments: >£93,250
    Target MFW date: December 2018
    • apple muncher
    • By apple muncher 8th Feb 16, 8:55 PM
    • 4,426 Posts
    • 32,155 Thanks
    apple muncher
    If you do incorporate a maid's room, I'd like to apply for the job . (Though my portuguese is a little rusty...)
    NST Feb #1; Jan+ stretch 241.79
    NSD 6/16; food £61.80/£180; /290k; /290 min; remove 2/80; sell 27.5/1000; craft 10/29

    Mortgage £39,434 (01/14: £78,200.69; 01/15: £59,628.56; 01/16 39,915) MFWDate Dec 2018
    • Thistlewhistle
    • By Thistlewhistle 8th Feb 16, 11:50 PM
    • 957 Posts
    • 6,813 Thanks
    Thistlewhistle
    Sounds idyllic. Relaxation! Now I could do with some of that!!

    Tx
    Mortgage at end 05/2007: £90,202
    Mortgage at end 01/2016: £80,411 paid £9,791 (10.85%)
    Daily interest: £9.99
    MFD: 09/2031 saving 11yr 4 mth

    Credit Card Debt (0% until 03/2017): £4,250 : £2,305 paid off (54%)
    Emergency Fund Challenge #42: £2,200/£5,000

    Age of Money at 31/01/2016 = 28 days

    YNAB is changing the way I live my life....and spend my money!!
    • Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    • By Tilly MFW in 6 YRS 9th Feb 16, 12:03 AM
    • 7,338 Posts
    • 82,097 Thanks
    Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    This MFW lark really does bring choice and I am extremely grateful to have found it when I did.

    Just back in from dinner with friends. German friends yesterday, South African tonight, English Wednesday. I am feeling quite cosmopolitan My German is rusty but I found it improved after a few glasses of grape juice.

    Oooh a maid's room - nope, definitely can't have one of those, Mr T would put me in it

    I'm off to check out cars on Monday. Not to buy one but Mr T has asked me to do some price checking and the dealerships are handily, all in one road. That should keep me busy for a while.

    Tomorrow night I'm staying in. I'll be lighting the fire, making butternut squash soup and I have a girlfriend coming over to watch a film.

    I'm going to have a glass of port, catch up on NCIS, then off to bed.

    Night Tilly x x
    2004 £387k 29 years - MF March 2033 2011 £309k 10 years - MF March 2021.
    Goal: 28/08/15
    House 1:value £630k, outstanding Mort £10
    House 2: value Euro 400k, owned outright
    • CathT
    • By CathT 9th Feb 16, 7:32 AM
    • 4,252 Posts
    • 29,193 Thanks
    CathT
    You could write a book Tilly based on your journey, renovations and eventual move to the sun.
    [CENTER]June 2010 £121,287
    Feb 2016 £89,214
    WIOTW Feb £99,195
    • Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    • By Tilly MFW in 6 YRS 9th Feb 16, 1:47 PM
    • 7,338 Posts
    • 82,097 Thanks
    Tilly MFW in 6 YRS
    IT'S POURING

    My washing won't dry on the line today - fire lit instead

    BNS soup made, two sticks rubbed together to start a fire ok, I used matches instead.

    Tilly x x
    2004 £387k 29 years - MF March 2033 2011 £309k 10 years - MF March 2021.
    Goal: 28/08/15
    House 1:value £630k, outstanding Mort £10
    House 2: value Euro 400k, owned outright
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim's to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

6,743Posts Today

7,992Users online

Martin's Twitter