Selling shares standing at a gain

Hi all,

I'm a novice investor and I'd be interested to hear the approach that forum members take when it comes to deciding when to sell shares.

* Do you have a mechanical 'system' that you stick to come what may or do you rely on how you 'feel' a share might respond in the current market?
* If you have a system, what is the basis used? For example, do you sell once you've made a fixed percentage gain (say, 25%)?
* If a share doubles in value do you sell half of your holding to 'bank' your original cost?

I'd like to have a system but haven't yet formulated one. I can see the pyschological value in the third point above (so that you can't make a loss) but doesn't that then mean that you are selling shares in a company whose value is still rising?

Thanks.

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,995 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Your approaches sound more like trading than investing - there are some experienced investors on here who'd consider buying and selling individual shares but for the vast majority, especially novice investors, the most sensible route is to buy funds (to diversify and minimise risk) and hold for the long term, rather than dabbling and trying to beat the market.

Your options above seem to be predicated on shares rising all the time but of course that's not how it works!
  • Uncle_Bob
    Uncle_Bob Posts: 11 Forumite
    Thanks.

In hindsight that did sound more trader than investor and that wasn't my intention. I'm not talking about shares/funds held for hours, days, weeks - if you hold shares that have doubled in value in, say, 5 years, what would make you want to sell those shares?